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CHAPTER 2
REGISTRATION

[Prior to 7/13/88, see Architectural Examiners, Board of{80]]

193B—2.1(544A,17A) Application for registration by reciprocity. Applicants for registration by
reciprocity are required to make application to the National Council of Architectural Registration
Boards (NCARB), 1735 New York Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20006, for a council certificate. A
completed state application form (available through NCARB) and a completed NCARB council certif-
icate shall be transmitted to and filed in the board office before an application will be considered by the
board.

2.1(1) The board, by approval of three of its members who are registered architects, may waive
examination requirements for architects registered during the current year in another state or countn
where the qualifications prescribed at the time of original registration were substantially equivalent to
those prescribed in lowa. For the purpose of determining substantially equivalent qualifications, ap-
plicants who were originally registered in another state after July 1, 1984, shall have a NAAB-
accredited professional degree and applicants registered after June 1, 1991, shall have met the Trainil
Requirements for Intern-Architect Development Program (IDP). Applicants shall be deemed to have
met the IDP requirement regardless of the date of completion of the required experience, provided the
experience was completed prior to filing an application for lowa registration. The board shall find
probable cause for disciplinary action if the registrant’s registration in any other state is revoked for
statutory reasons or incompetence.

2.1(2) Rescinded IAB 2/9/00, effective 3/15/00.

2.1(3) Practice by business entities.

a. Before engaging in the practice of architecture in this state, a foreign or domestic business cor-
poration, a foreign professional corporation, a partnership, or sole proprietorship shall acquire an “Au-
thorization to Practice Architecture as a Business Entity” from the board as provided in lowa Code
section 544A.21.

b. A domestic professional corporation shall file with the board a copy of its annual report to the
secretary of state.

c. Application for the authorization shall be made to the board on forms prescribed by the board.

The application shall include but not be limited to the following:

(1) Name and address of the business entity;

(2) Type of business entity;

(3) Names, addresses, and titles of the registered agent if a corporation, and of all officers, direc-
tors, partners, beneficial owners, or other principals of the business entity, or of the sole proprietor;

(4) Name and address of each registered architect in responsible charge of the practice of architec
ture on behalf of the business entity in the state of lowa;

(5) Signature of an officer of a corporation, a partner of a partnership, or the sole proprietor.

d. The “Authorization to Practice Architecture as a Business Entity” will expire on June 30 of
each year. Renewal application forms will be provided by the board. The form will request informa-
tion substantially similar to the information requested in subrule 2c1(3)

e. Abusiness entity that fails to renew the authorization by the expiration date, but does so within
30 days following its expiration date, shall be allowed to do so with the payment of a $5 penalty.

(1) The board shall give notice by certified mail, return receipt requested, to the holder of an autho-
rization who has failed to renew the authorization. If the holder fails to renew within 30 days of receipt
of the notice, the certificate of registration shall be canceled.

(2) The authorization may be reinstated by completing all of the following:

1. Paying a reinstatement fee of $100.

2. Paying the business entity renewal fee.

3. Submitting the application form required by the board.
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(3) A business entity that loses its authorization by cancellation or other board action shall imme-
diately cease to conduct architectural practice in the state of lowa.

193B—2.2(544A,17A) Application for registration by examination.To be admitted to the ex-
amination, an applicant for registration shall have completed eligibility requirements of education and
training standards for NCARB certification and attained an NCARB council record. A completed
NCARB council record shall be transmitted to and filed in the board office prior to the scheduling of an
examination. Applicants shall also file a state eligibility form and pay a $100 application fee for proc-
essing of examination results.

2.2(1) Alleligibility requirements shall have been verified by the council record and satisfied in
accordance with the NCARB Handbook for Interns and Architects. The Handbook is available
through the National Council of Architectural Registration Board (NCARB), 1735 New York Avenue,
N.W., Washington, D.C. 20006, the lowa architectural examining board or the state law library. Eligi-
bility requirements include a professional degree from a program accredited by the National Architec-
tural Accrediting Board (NAAB) or the Canadian Architectural Certification Board (CACB) and
completion of IDP (Intern Development Program).

2.2(2) Documentation of training standards shall be submitted on “IDP report” forms, published by
NCARB, verified by signatures of registered architects serving as (a) a professional sponsor who has
been the intern-architect's employer or who has been an architect in the firm who has substantial respon-
sibility and has been assigned by the firm to act in this capacity; and (b) a professional advisor who is a
registered architect, usually outside the intern’s firm, with whom the intern has met for guidance and
evaluation of progress. The report form shall be completed to demonstrate attainment of an aggregate of
the minimum number of value units in each training area. To receive credit, training units must have been
earned no longer than five years prior to the date of establishing an NCARB council record.

2.2(3) To qualify for registration, all applicants shall pass all divisions of the Architectural Regis-
tration Examination (ARE) prepared and provided by the National Council of Architectural Registra-
tion Boards (NCARB). Applicants who have previously passed any portion of formerly required
NCARB examinations will be granted credit for those portions passed in accordance with procedures
established by NCARB. Divisions of the examination may be passed or failed separately in accor-
dance with procedures established by NCARB.

193B—2.3(544A,17A) ReinstatementAn expired certificate of registration can be reinstated by
completing one of the following options:

2.3(1) Option 1.

1. Paying a reinstatement fee of $50 per year of expired registration, up to a maximum of $350.

2. Paying the current renewal fee.

3. Submitting documented evidence of completion of 12 contact hours (8 hours in public protection
subjects) of continuing education for each year of expired registration in compliance with requirements
in 193B—Chapter 3 up to a maximum of 48 contact hours (32 hours in public protection subjects).

2.3(2) Option 2. File a new application for registration as prescribed in rule 193B—2.1(544A,
17A) and subrules 2.1(1) and 2.2(3).

193B—2.4(544A,17A) Examination. Examinations for registration as an architect shall be con-
ducted by the board or its authorized representative.

2.4(1) Content and grading of the examinatiofhe board shall make use of the “Architect Reg-
istration Examination” (ARE) prepared and graded by NCARB under a plan of cooperation with the
boards of all states and territories of the United States.

2.4(2) Testing serviceThe board may make use of a testing service selected by NCARB to ad-
minister the examination, provided the examination is held in at least one location within the bound-
aries of this state.
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193B—2.5(544A,17A) Fee schedulélnder the authority provided in lowa Code chapter 544A, the
following fees are hereby adopted:
Examination fees:

Initial application fee paidto board. . . .. ... ... .. . $100
Fees for examination subjects shall be paid directly to the testing service selected by NCARB.
Registration Fee . . .. ... e 20 ..
(plus $5 per month until renewal)
Reciprocal Application and Registration Fee . . .. ....... ... . i 140
Biennial Renewal Fee . . .. .. ... 140.
Biennial Renewal Fee (INnactive). . . ... ... i e e 50
Reinstatement Fee. . ... ... 100.
Duplicate Certificate Fee. . ... ... e 20 .
Roster Fee (except to registered architects and governmental agencies). . ........... 50
Authorization to Practice Architecture as a Business Entity. . . ...................... 50
Renewal of Authorization to Practice Architecture as a Business Entity . . ............ 20

193B—2.6(252J) Certificates of noncompliancelThe board shall deny the issuance or renewal of a
certificate of registration upon the receipt of a certificate of noncompliance from the child support re-
covery unit of the department of human services according to the procedures in lowa Code Supplemer
chapter 252J. In addition to the procedures set forth in chapter 252J, this rule shall apply.

2.6(1) The notice required by lowa Code Supplement section 252J.8 shall be served upon the reg:
istrant or applicant by restricted certified mail, return receipt requested, or personal service in accor-
dance with Rules of Civil Procedure 56.1. Alternatively, the registrant or applicant may accept service
personally or through authorized counsel.

2.6(2) The effective date of the denial of the issuance or renewal of a certificate of registration, as
specified in the notice required by section 252J.8, shall be 60 days following service of the notice upon
the registrant or applicant.

2.6(3 The board’s executive secretary is authorized to prepare and serve the notice required by
section 252J.8 upon the registrant or applicant.

2.6(4) Registrants and applicants shall keep the board informed of all court actions and all child
support recovery unit actions taken under or in connection with chapter 252J and shall provide the
board copies, within seven days of filing or issuance, of all applications filed with the district court
pursuant to section 252J.9, all court orders entered in such actions, and withdrawals of certificates o
noncompliance by the child support recovery unit.

2.6(5) All board fees for applications, license renewal or reinstatement must be paid by regis-
trants or applicants before a certificate of registration will be issued, renewed or reinstated after the
board has denied the issuance or renewal of a license pursuant to chapter 252J.

2.6(6) Inthe eventa registrant or applicant files a timely district court action following service of
a board notice pursuant to sections 252J.8 and 252J.9, the board shall continue with the intended actic
described in the notice upon the receipt of a court order lifting the stay, dismissing the action, or other-
wise directing the board to proceed. For purposes of determining the effective date of the denial of the
issuance or renewal of a certificate of registration, the board shall count the number of days before the
action was filed and the number of days after the action was disposed of by the court.
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2.6(7) The board shall notify the registrant or applicant in writing through regular first-class mail,
or such other means as the board deems appropriate in the circumstances, within ten days of the effec-
tive date of the denial of the issuance or renewal of a certificate of registration, and shall similarly
notify the registrant or applicant when the certificate of registration is issued or renewed following the
board’s receipt of a withdrawal of the certificate of noncompliance.

193B—2.7(77GA,ch1081) Issuance or renewal of a certificate of registration—denidhe board

shall deny the issuance or renewal of a certificate of registration upon receipt of a certificate of non-
compliance from the college student aid commission according to the procedures set forth in 1998
lowa Acts, chapter 1081. In addition to those procedures, this rule shall apply.

2.7(1) The notice required by 1998 lowa Acts, chapter 1081, section 6, shall be served by re-
stricted certified mail, return receipt requested, or by personal service in accordance with the lowa
Rules of Civil Procedure. Alternatively, the applicant or registrant may accept service personally or
through authorized counsel.

2.7(2) The effective date of the denial of the issuance or renewal of a certificate of registration, as
specified in the notice required by 1998 lowa Acts, chapter 1081, section 6, shall be 60 days following
service of the notice upon the applicant or registrant.

2.7(3) The board’s executive secretary is authorized to prepare and serve the notice required by
1998 lowa Acts, chapter 1081, section 6, upon the applicant or registrant.

2.7(4) Applicants and registrants shall keep the board informed of all court actions and all college
student aid commission actions taken under or in connection with lowa Code chapter 261 and shall
provide the board copies, within seven days of filing or issuance, of all applications filed with the dis-
trict court pursuant to 1998 lowa Acts, chapter 1081, section 7, all court orders entered in such actions,
and withdrawals of certificates of noncompliance by the college student aid commission.

2.7(5) All board fees required for application, registration renewal or registration reinstatement
must be paid by applicants or registrants, and all continuing education requirements must be met be-
fore a certificate of registration will be issued, renewed, or reinstated after the board has denied the
issuance or renewal of a certificate of registration pursuant to lowa Code chapter 261.

2.7(6) Inthe event an applicant or registrant timely files a district court action following service
of a board notice pursuant to 1998 lowa Acts, chapter 1081, sections 6 and 7, the board shall continue
with the intended action described in the notice upon the receipt of a court order lifting the stay, dis-
missing the action, or otherwise directing the board to proceed. For purposes of determining the effec-
tive date of the denial of the issuance or renewal of a certificate of registration, the board shall count the
number of days before the action was filed and the number of days after the action was disposed of by
the court.

2.7(7) The board shall notify the applicant or registrant in writing through regular first-class mail,
or such other means as the board deems appropriate in the circumstances, within ten days of the effec-
tive date of the denial of the issuance or renewal of a certificate of registration, and shall similarly
notify the applicant or registrant when the certificate of registration is issued or renewed following the
board’s receipt of a withdrawal of the certificate of noncompliance.

These rules are intended to implement lowa Code sections 544A.5, 544A.8 to 544A.11, 544A.21,
272C.2 and 272C.4, lowa Code chapter 252J and 1998 lowa Acts, chapter 1081.
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[Filed 10/1/76, Notice 9/8/76—published 10/20/76, effective 12/8/76]
[Filed 3/15/78, Notice 11/30/77—published 4/5/78, effective 5/10/78]
[Filed 1/23/81, Notice 9/3/80—published 2/18/81, effective 3/25/81]
[Filed 5/8/81, Notice 4/1/81—published 5/27/81, effective 7/1/81]
[Filed 2/7/83, Notice 12/22/82—published 3/2/83, effective 4/6/83]
[Filed 9/13/85, Notice 6/19/85—published 10/9/85, effective 11/13/85]
[Filed 10/8/87, Notice 7/15/87—published 11/4/87, effective 12/9/87]
[Filed 6/24/88, Notice 3/9/88—published 7/13/88, effective 8/17/88]
[Filed 3/30/89, Notice 1/25/89—published 4/19/89, effective 5/24/89]
[Filed 9/15/89, Notice 7/12/89—published 10/4/89, effective 11/8/89]
[Filed 2/15/91, Notice 1/9/91—published 3/6/91, effective 4/10/91]
[Filed 12/6/91, Notice 10/30/91—published 12/25/91, effective 1/29/92]
[Filed 3/12/93, Notice 2/3/93—published 3/31/93, effective 5/5/93]
[Filed 1/14/94, Notice 11/10/93—published 2/2/94, effective 3/23/94]
[Filed 2/6/95, Notice 12/7/94—published 3/1/95, effective 4/5/95]
[Filed 4/5/96, Notice 1/3/96—published 4/24/96, effective 5/29/96]
[Filed 9/20/96, Notice 7/31/96—published 10/9/96, effective 11/13/96]
[Filed 4/30/98, Notice 12/31/97—published 5/20/98, effective 6/24/98]
[Filed 11/12/98, Notice 6/17/98—published 12/2/98, effective 1/6/99]
[Filed 11/12/98, Notice 8/12/98—published 12/2/98, effective 1/6/99]
[Filed 5/13/99, Notice 2/24/99—published 6/2/99, effective 7/7/99]
[Filed 1/12/00, Notice 10/20/99—published 2/9/00, effective 3/15/00]



