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Order

Administrative Agencies

The Iowa Supreme Court adopts amendments to rule 31.14 of the lowa

Court Rules setting forth a fee and registration requirement for admission pro

hac vice. The director of the office of professional regulation (OPR) proposed

the amendments, which the court considered and submitted for public

comment. The court appreciates the comments it received. After full

consideration of the public comments and further consideration of the

proposed fee and registration rule, the court finds that the fee and registration

rule 1s appropriate for applications for admission to practice pro hac vice before

Iowa courts and administrative agencies.

The key provisions of rule 31.14(11), which will take effect January 1,

2017, include the following:

Applicants for admission pro hac vice before Iowa courts and
administrative agencies will be required to register and pay a $250
pro hac vice fee at the OPR web site.

The registration and fee payment will allow the applicant to file
applications for admission pro hac vice in lowa courts and
administrative agencies for a period of five years from the date of
registration without further fee payment.

Applicants for pro hac vice admission who have paid the $250 fee
will appear in the OPR attorney database as “Pro Hac Vice”
attorneys.

The pro hac vice fees collected will be deposited in the Client
Security Trust Fund (CSTF).

Applicants for admission pro hac vice before lowa courts and
administrative agencies will be required to allege in their
applications that they have registered and paid the pro hac vice
fee.



o Clerks of court and administrative agency staff will confirm that
each applicant for admission pro hac vice has registered and paid
the fee by checking the public OPR database.

e Upon expiration of the five-year period following registration and
fee payment, the registration will lapse. A new registration and fee

payment will be required to support pro hac vice applications by
the attorney after a registration lapses.

The court adopts the amendments to rule 31.14 of the Iowa Court Rules
as provided with this order.
The amendments will be effective January 1, 2017.

Dated this 19th day of February, 2016.

The Supreme Court of lowa

Ml % Lidy

Mark S. Cady, Chief Justice
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Chapter 31 Admission to the Bar

31.14(5) Required information for application. An application filed by the
out-of-state lawyer shall- must contain all of the following information:

r. A statement that the out-of-state lawyer has registered with the office of
professional regulation and paid the fee as required by rule 31.14(11).

31.14(11) Periodic fee. An applicant for admission to appear pro hac vice in
any lowa court or before any lowa agency must first register with the office of
professional regulation and pay a fee of $250 to the client security trust fund.
The office of professional regulation may prescribe an electronic format for the
registration and require submission of the registration and payment in that
form.

a. Registration and payment of the fee required by this rule qualifies the
out-of-state lawver to file applications for admission pro hac vice in any Iowa
court or before any lowa agency for a period of five years commencing with the
date of registration. Upon expiration of the five-year period, the out-of-state
lawyver becomes ineligible to file an application for admission pro hac vice in
any Iowa court or before any lowa agency without first registering and paying
another fee as required by this rule.

b. An out-of-state lawver admitted pro hac vice after registration and
payment of the fee as required by this rule who later is fully admitted to the bar
of lowa must pay initial, special, and regular assessments to the client security
trust fund as required by rule 39.6.
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