COMMITTEE MINUTES for APPROPRIATIONS

Date: March 21, 2012 **Place:** Room 103

Convened: 3/21/2012 **Recessed:** 3/21/2012 **Reconvened:** 3/21/2012 **Adjourned:** 3/21/2012

10:05 AM 1:05 PM 3:55 PM 5:10 PM

Present: Representatives Raecker-CH, Wagner-VC, Olson, T.-RM, Chambers, Cohoon, Dolecheck,

Drake, Garrett, Gaskill, Hagenow, Hall, Heaton, Heddens, Huseman, Lukan, Murphy, Rogers,

Running-Marquardt, Schulte, Schultz, Taylor, T., Watts, Wenthe, Winckler, Worthan

Absent: None

Excused: None

Representative Raecker called the Appropriations Committee meeting to order at 10:05 AM. Roll was called; all members present. Minutes from the March 19, 2012 meeting were approved.

Republicans and Democrats went to caucus at 10:06 AM.

Representative Raecker reconvened the meeting at 10:29 AM.

Representative Raecker recognized Representative Rogers for opening remarks on SF 430, an Act relating to violations of the open records and public meetings laws and the creation of the Iowa public information board, and including fee and effective date provisions. Discussion followed. Representative Rogers was recognized for closing comments and moved SF 430. SF 430 passed 20-5 and will move to the House floor. Representatives voting aye: Raecker, Wagner, Olson, Chambers, Dolecheck, Drake, Garrett, Hagenow, Hall, Heaton, Heddens, Huseman, Lukan, Rogers, Running-Marquardt, Schulte, Schultz, Watts, Wenthe, Worthan. Representatives voting nay: Cohoon, Gaskill, Murphy, Taylor, Winckler.

Republicans and Democrats went to caucus at 10:37 AM.

Representative Raecker reconvened the meeting at 12:25 PM.

Representative Raecker requested and received unanimous consent to dissolve the committee into a subcommittee of the whole. Representative Raecker recognized Representative Dolecheck for opening remarks on SF 2321, an Act relating to the funding of, the operation of, and appropriation of moneys to the college student aid commission, the department for the blind, the department of education, and the state board of regents, and providing effective date provisions. Following discussion, Representative Dolecheck offered closing comments and moved SF 2321, which passed, short form.

Representative Raecker requested and received unanimous consent to dissolve the subcommittee of the whole and return to the full committee. With no further opening remarks on SF 2321, the Chair recognized Representative Dolecheck for opening remarks on amendment SF 2321.5256. With three amendments to the amendment, the Chair recognized Representative Dolecheck for opening remarks on an amendment to the amendment, SF 2321.5265. Following discussion, Representative Dolecheck moved the amendment, which passed, 25-0. Representative Raecker recognized Representative Wagner for opening remarks on the second amendment to the amendment, SF 2321.5285. Discussion followed and Representative Wagner moved the amendment, which passed, 25-0.

The committee recessed at 1:05 PM.

Representative Raecker called the committee meeting back to order at 3:55 PM.

Representative Raecker recognized Representative Dolecheck for the third amendment to the amendment, SF 2321.5290. Discussion followed. With no further closing remarks, Representative Dolecheck moved the amendment, which passed, 22-0; Schulte, Schultz, and Watts excused.

Representative Raecker returned the committee to consideration of amendment SF

2321.5256. Following questions and discussion, Representative Dolecheck offered closing comments and moved the amendment, which passed, 15-10. Representatives voting aye: Raecker, Wagner, Chambers, Dolecheck, Drake, Garrett, Hagenow, Heaton, Huseman, Lukan, Rogers, Schulte, Schultz, Watts, Worthan. Representatives voting nay: Olson, Cohoon, Gaskill, Hall, Heddens, Murphy, Running-Marquardt, Taylor, Wenthe, Winckler.

Representative Raecker returned the committee to consideration of SF 2321. Following comments, Representative Dolecheck was recognized for closing remarks and moved SF 2321 which passed, 15-10. SF 2321 will move to the House floor. Representatives voting aye: Raecker, Wagner, Chambers, Dolecheck, Drake, Garrett, Hagenow, Heaton, Huseman, Lukan, Rogers, Schulte, Schultz, Watts, Worthan. Representatives voting nay: Olson, Cohoon, Gaskill, Hall, Heddens, Murphy, Running-Marquardt, Taylor, Wenthe, Winckler.

Democrats went to caucus at 4:43 PM.

Representative Raecker called the committee meeting back to order at 4:55 PM.

Representative Raecker recognized Representative Rogers for opening comments on HF 2214, an Act prohibiting the use of automated traffic law enforcement systems, and including effective date provisions. Representative Raecker recognized Representative Wenthe for opening comments on amendment HF 2214.5278. Following discussion, Representative Wenthe was recognized for closing comments and moved the amendment, which failed, 10-15. Representatives voting aye: Olson, Cohoon, Gaskill, Hall, Heddens, Murphy, Running-Marquardt, Taylor, Wenthe, Winckler. Representatives voting nay: Raecker, Wagner, Chambers, Dolecheck, Drake, Garrett, Hagenow, Heaton, Huseman, Lukan, Rogers, Schulte, Schultz, Watts, Worthan. Representative Raecker returned the committee to discussion of HF 2214. Following discussion, the Chair recognized Representative Rogers for closing remarks on HF 2214. Representative Rogers moved the bill, which passed, 14-11. HF 2214 will move to the House floor as an Appropriations Committee bill. Representatives voting aye: Raecker, Wagner, Chambers, Dolecheck, Drake, Garrett, Hagenow, Hall, Huseman, Lukan, Rogers, Schultz, Watts, Worthan. Representatives voting nay: Olson, Cohoon, Gaskill, Heaton, Heddens, Murphy, Running-Marquardt, Schulte, Taylor, Wenthe, Winckler.

With no further business to come before the committee, Representative Olson moved to arise at $5:10\ \mathrm{PM}.$

Representative J. Scott Raecker	
Martha S. Raecker, Committee Secretary	