## **COMMITTEE MINUTES for** WAYS AND MEANS

Date: March 21, 2012 Place: Room 102

Convened: 3/21/2012 **Recessed:** 3/21/2012 **Reconvened:** 3/21/2012 **Adjourned:** 3/21/2012

> 10:05 AM 12:05 PM 3:45 PM 4:55 PM

**Present:** Representatives Sands-CH, Byrnes-VC, Jacoby-RM, Cownie, De Boef, Forristall, Grassley,

Hein, Helland, Isenhart, Kajtazovic, Kaufmann, Kearns, Moore, Muhlbauer, Oldson, Paustian,

Petersen, Pettengill, Quirk, Soderberg, Taylor, J., Thomas, Vander Linden, Willems

Absent: None

**Excused:** None

Chairman Representative Sands called the meeting to order at 10:05 AM Attendance was taken and quorum was present.

Minutes from the March 19th meeting were approved.

There following bills were assigned:

Helland - Chair, Sands & Thomas HF 2347

HF 2381 Moore - Chair, Paustian & Muhlbauer

HF 2416 Helland - Chair, Sands & Kearns

HF 2417 Paustian - Chair, Pettengill & Isenhart

De Boef - Chair, Peterson & Hein Helland - Chair, Sands & Willems Helland - Chair, Sands & Kearns HF 2420

HF 2436

HF 2438

HF 2443 Helland - Chair, Sands & Jacoby

SF 2161 Helland - Chair, Sands & Jacoby

Byrnes - Chair, Grassley & Thomas SF 2308

SF 2318 Helland - Chair, Paustian & Petersen

Kaufmann - Chair, Soderberg & Quirk Hein - Chair, De Boef & Quirk HSB 666

HSB 667

HSB 668 Vander Linden - Chair, De Boef & Oldson

The committee stood at ease for both parties to caucus at 10:12 AM

The committee meeting resumed at 11:33 AM

Chairman Sands recognized Representative Soderberg for HF 2382. A bill for an act relating to the amount allowable as an innovation fund investment tax credit and including effective date and retroactive applicability provisions. The Chair recognized Representative Soderberg for Amendment 5284. amendment was moved and passed short form. Chairman Sands asked for unanimous consent to temporarily defer on HF 2382.

Chairman Sands asked for unanimous consent that the committee desolve into Subcommittee of the Whole for consideration of SF 430. Chair recognized Representative Cownie for opening comments and explanation of SF 430. Representative Cownie moved the bill and was passed on voice vote.

The Sub Committee of the Whole dissolved back into the Committee. Committee reconvened.

The chair recognized Representative Cownie for opening remarks on SF 430. An Act relating to violations of the open records and public meetings laws and the creation of the Iowa public information board, and including fee and effective date provisions. Representative Cownie was then recognized for Amendment 5292. The amendment was moved and passed on short form. The bill was moved as amended and passed by the vote of 21 Aye to 2 Nay and 2 Absent. The Nay votes were Representative Kearns & Petersen. This bill will move to the house floor as a Senate File as amended.

The Committee Recessed at 12:04 PM.

The Committee Resumed at 3:45 PM.

The committee stood at ease for both parties to caucus at 3:50 PM

The committee resumed at 4:15 PM

The following bill was assigned:

SF 2217 Kaufmann - Chair, Cownie, Vander Linden,
Willems & Thomas

Chairman Sands asked for unanimous consent that the committee desolve into Subcommittee of the Whole for consideration of SF 364.

Chair recognized Representative Kaufmann for opening comments and explanation of SF 364. Representative Kaufmann moved the bill and was passed on voice vote.

The Sub Committee of the Whole dissolved back into the Committee. The Committee reconvened.

The chair recognized Representative Kaufmann for opening remarks on SF 364. An Act relating to the licensure of orthotists, prosthetists, and pedorthists and providing for fees and penalties. The bill was moved as amended and by the vote of 24 Aye to 1 Nay. The Nay vote was Representative Helland. This bill will move to the house floor as a Senate File .

The Chair recognized Representative Soderberg for HF 2382. Representative Soderberg moved the bill as amended. The bill was moved and passed as amended by the vote of 25 Aye to 0 Nay. This bill as amended will move to the house floor as a Ways & Means committee bill.

Chairman Sands recognized Representative Moore for HF 2419. A bill for an act relating to the rebate of state sales tax to the owner or operator of a baseball and softball tournament facility and movie site. The Chair recognized Representative Pettengill for Amendment 5289. The amendment was moved and passed with a Vote of 16 Aye to 9 Nay. The Aye votes were Representatives Sands, Byrnes, Cownie, De Boef, Forristall, Grassley, Hein, Helland, Kaufman, Moore, Paustian, Pettengill, Soderberg, Taylor, Vander Linden and Isenhart. The Nay votes were Representatives Jacoby, Kajtazovic, Kearns, Muhlbauer, Oldson, Petersen, Quirk, Thomas and Willems. Representative Moore moved the bill as amended. The bill was moved and passed as amended by the vote of 19 Aye to 6 Nay. The nay vote were Representative Jacoby, Muhlbauer, Pettengill, Soderberg, J. Taylor and Vander Linden. This bill as amended will move to the house floor as a Ways & Means committee bill.

As there was no additional business to come before the committee Representative Cownie moved to adjourn at 4:55 PM.

Representative Thomas R. Sands
Catherine Miller-Sands, Committee Secretary