## COMMITTEE MINUTES for WAYS AND MEANS

Date:	March 19, 2012 Place: Room 102			
Convened:	3/19/2012 <b>Recessed:</b> 3:05 PM	3/19/2012 5:05 PM	<b>Reconvened:</b> 3/19/2012 5:40 PM	Adjourned: 3/19/2012 5:55 PM
Present:	Representatives Sands-CH, Byrnes-VC, Jacoby-RM, Cownie, De Boef, Forristall, Grassley, Hein, Helland, Isenhart, Kajtazovic, Kaufmann, Kearns, Moore, Muhlbauer, Oldson, Paustian, Petersen, Pettengill, Quirk, Soderberg, Taylor, J., Thomas, Vander Linden, Willems			
Absent:	None			
Excused:	None			

Chairman Representative Sands called the meeting to order at 3:03PM

Attendance was taken and quorum was present.

Minutes from the March 12th meeting were approved.

There were no bills assigned at the meeting.

The committee stood at ease for both parties to caucus at 3:05 PM

The committee meeting resumed at 4:30 PM

Chairman Sands recognized Representative Moore for HF 2164. A bill for an act providing a sales tax exemption for the sale of certain items to a substance abuse treatment provider. The Chair recognized Representative Moore for Amendment 4984. The amendment was moved and passed short form. Representative Moore moved the bill as amended. The bill was moved and passed as amended by the vote of 25 Aye to 0 Nay. This bill as amended will move to the house floor as a Ways & Means committee bill.

Chairman Sands recognized Representative Cownie for opening remarks on HF 2434. A bill for an act relating to government operations and efficiency, school elections, eliminating certain tax credits, and including effective date and applicability provisions. The Chair recognized Representative Cownie for Amendment 5179. Representative Cownie asked for division of this amendment. Division A: Page 3, line 41 through page 4, line 3. Division B: Page 1, line 1 through page 3, line 40 and beginning again at page 4, line 4 through page 8, line 30. Representative Cownie asked for unanimous consent to withdraw Division A. Consent granted. The chair recognized Rep. Cownie for Division B. The chair recognized Representative Jacoby for amendment 5197 to the amendment 5179 Division B. The amendment to the amendment was moved and failed on vote 10 Aye to 15 Nay. The Aye votes were Representatives Jacoby, Isenhart, Kajtazovic, Kearns, Muhlbauer, Oldson, Petersen, Quirk, Thomas and The Nay Votes were Representatives Sands, Byrnes, Cownie, De Boef, Willems. Forristall, Grassley, Hein, Helland, Kaufman, Moore, Paustian, Pettengill, Soderberg, Taylor and Vander Linden. The Chair recognized Representative The Chair recognized Representative Cownie for closing comments on amendment 5179 Division B. The Amendment was moved and passed on short form. Representative Cownie moved the bill as amended. The bill was moved and passed as amended by the vote of 16 Aye to 9 Nay with 0 Absent. The nay votes were Representatives Jacoby, Isenhart, Kajtazovic, Kearns, Muhlbauer, Oldson, Petersen, Thomas and Willems. This bill as amended will move to the house floor as a Ways and Means committee bill.

The committee meeting recessed at 5:05 PM. The committee meeting resumed at 5:40 PM

Chairman Sands recognized Representative Pettengill for HF 635. A bill for an act relating to the construction and installation of geothermal heat pumps, providing income tax credits for such construction and installation, and including effective date and retroactive applicability provisions. The Chair recognized Representative Pettengill for Amendment 5154. The amendment was

moved and passed Short Form. Representative Pettengill moved the bill as amended. The bill was moved and passed by the vote of 25 Aye to 0 Nay with 0 Absent. The bill as amended will move to the house floor as a Ways and Means committee bill.

As there was no additional business to come before the committee Representative Grassley moved to adjourn at 5:55 PM.

Representative Thomas R. Sands

Catherine Miller-Sands, Committee Secretary