## COMMITTEE MINUTES for HUMAN RESOURCES

**Date:** March 13, 2012 **Place:** Room 22

Convened: 3/13/2012 Recessed: Reconvened: Adjourned: 3/13/2012

11:15 AM 11:30 AM

Present: Senators Ragan-CH, Wilhelm-VC, Seymour-RM, Bacon, Boettger, Bolkcom, Dotzler, Hatch,

Jochum, Johnson, Mathis, Quirmbach, Whitver

**Absent:** None

Excused: None

Committee Chair Ragan called meeting to order at 11:15 am.

Attendance was taken.

Senator Quirmbach moved to approve previous meeting minutes, minutes approved unanimously.

Chair Ragan recognized Senator Quirmbach for introduction of Gubernatorial Appointee, Thomas Greene, to the Commission on Tobacco Use Prevention and Control. Short form was taken to appoint Greene and move forward to the Individual Confirmation Calendar.

Chair Ragan recognized Senator Wilhelm for introduction of Gubernatorial Appointee, Geoffrey Jensen, to the Board of Athletic Training.

Chair Ragan recognized Senator Quirmbach for introduction of Gubernatorial Appointee, Mikki Stier, to the Commission on Tobacco Use Prevention and Control.

Chair Ragan recognized Senator Bolkcom for introduction of Gubernatorial Appointee, Christopher Atchison, to the Prevention of Disabilities Policy Council.

Chair Ragan recognized Senator Johnson for introduction of Gubernatorial Appointees; Cheryll Jones, to the Prevention of Disabilities Policy Council; and Susan Lerdal, to the Healthy and Well Kids in Iowa (HAWK-I) Board.

Chair Ragan recognized Senator Seymour for introduction of Gubernatorial Appointees; Joesph Hutter, to the Healthy and Well Kids in Iowa (HAWK-I) Board; Mary Chavez, to the Commission of Persons with Disabilities; Beth Jones, to the Prevention of Disabilities Policy Council; Brandon Wesman, to the Commission of Persons with Disabilities; and Richard Stone, to the Commission on Aging.

Chair Ragan recognized Senator Jochum for introduction of Gubernatorial Appointees; Neil Broderick, to the Mental Health and Disability Services Commission; and Amy Crow Sunleaf, to the Board of Behavioral Science.

Chair Ragan recognized Senator Hatch for introduction of Gubernatorial Appointee; Sal Alaniz, to the Commission of Latino Affairs; and Juan Rodriguez, to the Commission of Latino Affairs.

Chair Ragan recognized Senator Hatch for introduction of Gubernatorial Appointee, Mary Mincer Hansen, to the Healthy and Well Kids in Iowa (HAWK-I) Board.

Chair Ragan recognized Senator Whitver for introduction of Gubernatorial Appointees; John Gannon, to the Board of Sign Language Interpreters and Transliterators; Stephanie Lyons, to the Board of Sign Language Interpreters and Transliterators; Diana Kautzky, to the Board of Sign Language Interpreters and Transliterators; Christina Taylor, to the Board of Athletic Training; and Jill Bjerke, to the Commission on Aging.

Chair Ragan recognized Senator Bacon for introduction of Gubernatorial Appointees; Harry Van Grevenhof, to the Commission of Persons with

Disabilities; and Jill Davisson, to the Mental Health and Disability Services Commission.

Chair Ragan recognized Senator Boettger for introduction of Gubernatorial Appointees; Suzanne Watson, to the Mental Health and Disability Services Commission; and Patrick Schmitz, to the Mental Health and Disability Services Commission.

Chair Ragan recognized Senator Mathis for introduction of Gubernatorial Appointee, Debra Schildroth, to the Mental Health and Disability Services Commission.

Senator Mathis moved to recommend the passing of all appointments. Short form was taken to on the appointments, passed unanimously, and moved forward to the En Bloc Confirmation Calendar. Senator Hatch requested all appointments be checked for balance in gender and party affiliation.

Senator Johnson moved to end the meeting at 11:30 pm.

Senator Amanda Ragan	