COMMITTEE MINUTES for COMMERCE

Date:	February 22,	2012	Place: Room 103				
Convened:	2/22/2012 2:05 PM	Recessed:	2/22/2012 2:10 PM	Reconvo	ened: 2/22/2012 3:00 PM	Adjourned:	2/22/2012 3:15 PM

Present: Representatives Soderberg-CH, Baltimore-VC, Quirk-RM, Brandenburg, Fry, Grassley, Horbach, Iverson, Jacoby, Kajtazovic, Lykam, Muhlbauer, Oldson, Olson, T., Paustian, Pettengill, Shaw, Smith, J., Swaim, Wagner, Watts, Windschitl

Absent: None

Excused: Representative Kressig

The Commerce Committee met February 22, 2012 at 2:05 p.m. in room 103. The meeting was called to order by Chairman Chuck Soderberg. Roll call was taken and a quorum was present.

The minutes from the previous meeting were approved.

Rep. Soderberg assigned bills to subcommittee: HF 2303: CH. Rep. Windschitl, Rep. Kajtazovic, Rep. Watts

The committee was dissolved at 2:10 p.m. to caucus on the bills up for debate today on the agenda.

Upon completion of the caucuses at 3:00 p.m., Rep. Soderberg recognized Rep. Joel Fry for an introduction of HF 2105. Rep. Fry introduced Amendment 4189. Following discussion, Rep. Fry moved the amendment. Amendment 4189 passed on a short form voice vote. Rep. Soderberg opened the floor to discussion of HF 2105, as amended. Following discussion, Rep. Soderberg recognized Rep. Fry for closing remarks. Rep. Fry then moved the bill. Roll was called. With a vote of 22 ayes and 0 nays, the bill was declared to have passed the committee and will move to the House floor as a committee bill as amended.

Rep. Soderberg then recognized Rep. Ross Paustian for an introduction of HSB 533. Rep. Soderberg opened the floor for discussion of HSB 533. Following discussion, Rep. Soderberg recognized Rep. Paustian for closing remarks. Rep. Paustian then moved the bill. Roll was called. Those voting aye were, Representatives: Soderberg, Quirk, Brandenburg, Fry, Grassley, Horbach, Jacoby, Kajtazovic, Lykam, Muhlbauer, Oldson, Olson, Paustian, Shaw, Smith, Swaim, Wagner, Watts, and Windschitl. Those voting no were Representatives: Baltimore, Iverson, and Pettengill. Receiving 19 aye votes and 3 no votes, the bill received the majority of the votes and will be passed to the House floor as a committee bill.

Rep. Soderberg recognized Rep. Joel Fry for an introduction of HSB 592. Rep. Fry introduced Amendment 4265. Following discussion, Rep. Fry moved the amendment. Amendment 4265 passed on a short form voice vote. Rep. Soderberg opened the floor to discussion of HSB 592, as amended. Following discussion, Rep. Soderberg recognized Rep. Fry for closing remarks. Rep. Fry then moved the bill. Roll was called. Those voting aye were, Representatives: Soderberg, Baltimore, Quirk, Brandenburg, Fry, Iverson, Muhlbauer, Oldson, Olson, Paustian, Pettengill, Shaw, J. Smith, Swaim, Wagner, Watts, and Windschitl. Those voting no were Representatives: Grassley, Horbach, Jacoby, Kajtazovic, and Lykam. Receiving 17 aye votes and 5 no votes, the bill received the majority of the votes and will be passed to the House floor as a committee bill.

Rep. Soderberg recognized Rep. Nick Wagner for an introduction of HSB 599. Following discussion, Rep. Soderberg recognized Rep. Wagner for closing comments. Rep. Wagner then moved the bill. Roll was called. With a vote of 21 ayes and 1 nay from Representative Watts, the bill was declared to have passed the committee and will move to the House floor as a committee bill.

With there being no more action before the committee, Representative Jacoby

moved we arise. The committee was adjourned at 3:15 $\ensuremath{\texttt{PM}}.$

Representative Chuck Soderberg

Andrew Soderberg, Committee Secretary