COMMITTEE MINUTES for PUBLIC SAFETY

Date: February 20, 2012 **Place:** Room 19

Convened: 2/20/2012 **Recessed:** 2/20/2012 **Reconvened:** 2/20/2012 **Adjourned:** 2/20/2012

2:05 PM 2:10 PM 2:50 PM 3:20 PM

Present: Representatives Baudler-CH, Shaw-VC, Kressig-RM, Abdul-Samad, Alons, Berry,

Brandenburg, Fry, Gaines, Hagenow, Klein, Muhlbauer, Olson, R., Rayhons, Sands, Swaim,

Tjepkes, Windschitl, Wolfe, Worthan

Absent: None

Excused: Representative Olson, S.

The meeting was called to order at 2:05 P.M.

Roll call was taken and a quorum was present. Representative Olson, S. was excused.

As there were no corrections, amendments and/or deletions to the February 14, 2012 minutes, the minutes were unanimously approved.

The committee welcomed guests.

The following study bills were assigned to the following subcommittees:

HSB 636 (Chair: Klein, Fry, Abdul-Samad) HSB 398 (Chair: Hagenow, Olson, S., Wolfe)

Chair Baudler and Ranking Member Kressig announced the caucus of their respective parties at 2:10 P.M.

The committee reconvened at 2:50 P.M.

Chair Baudler recognized Representative Rayhons for opening comments on HF 2222: an act relating to school bus safety, including providing penalties for failure to obey school bus warning lamps and stop signal arms, providing for a school bus safety study, and making an appropriation. Representative Rayhons made opening comments. Chair Baudler recognized Representative Rayhons for consideration of Amendment 3791 to HF 2222. Chair Baudler recognized members of the committee for discussion on the amendment. Representative Rayhons moved Amendment 3791. Amendment 3791 passed unanimously with a voice vote. Chair Baudler recognized Representative Rayhons for closing remarks on HF 2222. Representative Rayhons made closing remarks. Representative Rayhons moved HF 2222. Those members voting aye: Chair Baudler; Vice Chair Shaw; Ranking Member Kressig and Representatives Abdul-Samad; Alons; Berry; Brandenburg; Fry; Gaines; Hagenow; Klein; Muhlbauer; Olson, R.; Rayhons; Sands; Swaim; Tjepkes; Windschitl; Wolfe; and Worthan. Representative Olson, S. was excused. Having received an affirmative vote of a majority of the committee membership as required to report a bill out of committee, HF 2222 as amended moved to the House Floor as a committee bill.

Chair Baudler recognized Representative Worthan for opening comments on HF 2252: a bill for an act relating to the possession of certain substances with the intent to manufacture a controlled substance, and providing a penalty. Representative Worthan made opening comments. Chair Baudler recognized members of the committee for discussion. Representative Worthan yielded to questions. Chair Baudler recognized Representative Worthan for closing remarks on the bill. Representative Worthan made closing remarks on the bill. Representative Worthan moved HF 2252. Those members voting aye: Chair Baudler; Vice Chair Shaw; Ranking Member Kressig and Representatives Abdul-Samad; Alons; Berry; Brandenburg; Fry; Gaines; Hagenow; Klein; Muhlbauer; Olson, R.; Rayhons; Sands; Swaim; Tjepkes; Windschitl; Wolfe; and Worthan. Representative Olson, S. was excused. Having received an affirmative vote of a majority of the committee membership as required to report a bill out of committee, HF 2252 as amended moved to the House Floor as a committee bill.

Chair Baudler moved to dissolve the committee into a committee of the whole.

Chair Baudler recognized Representative Hagenow for opening remarks on HF 398: A bill for an act modifying the criminal offense of interference with official acts. Representative Hagenow made opening remarks on the bill. Chair Baudler recognized members of the committee for discussion. Chair Baudler recognized Corwin Ritchie of the Attorney General?s Office, Marty Ryan from the Justice Reform Consortium, and Beth Lenstra of the Legislative Services Agency for further explanation of the bill. Representative Hagenow yielded to questions from the committee. Representative Windschidlt moved the subcommittee report. The subcommittee report was adopted unanimously with a voice vote. Chair Baudler moved to absolve the committee of a whole.

Chair Baudler recognized Representative Hagenow for closing remarks on HF 398. Representative Hagenow moved the bill. Chair Baudler moved HF 398. Those members voting aye: Chair Baudler; Vice Chair Shaw; Representatives Alons; Brandenburg; Fry; Hagenow; Klein; Rayhons; Sands; Tjepkes; Windschitl; and Worthan. Those members voting nay: Ranking Member Kressig and Representatives Abdul-Samad; Berry; Gaines; Muhlbauer; Olson, R.; Swaim and Wolfe. Representative Olson, S. was excused. Having received an affirmative vote of a majority of the committee membership as required to report a bill out of committee, HF 398 as amended moved to the House Floor.

Representative Rayhons thanked members of the committee for their work on HF 2222.

As there was no additional business to come before the committee, Representative Olson, R. moved to adjourn. The committee was adjourned at 3:20 P.M.

Representative Clel Baudler	
Megan Hess, Committee Secretary	