## COMMITTEE MINUTES for COMMERCE

**Date:** February 16, 2012 **Place:** Room 304

**Convened:** 2/16/2012 **Recessed:** 2/16/2012 **Reconvened:** 2/16/2012 **Adjourned:** 2/16/2012

11:05 AM 11:10 AM 11:55 AM 12:15 PM

**Present:** Representatives Soderberg-CH, Baltimore-VC, Quirk-RM, Brandenburg, Fry, Grassley,

Horbach, Iverson, Jacoby, Kajtazovic, Kressig, Lykam, Muhlbauer, Oldson, Olson, T.,

Paustian, Pettengill, Shaw, Smith, J., Wagner, Watts, Windschitl

**Absent:** None

**Excused:** Representative Swaim

The Commerce Committee met February 16, 2012 at 11:05 a.m. in room 304. The meeting was called to order by Chairman Chuck Soderberg. Roll call was taken and a quorum was present.

The minutes from the previous meeting were approved.

Rep. Soderberg assigned bills to subcommittee: HSB 631: CH. Rep. Smith, Rep. Paustian, Rep. Muhlbauer HSB 635: CH. Rep. Smith, Rep. Baltimore, Rep. Quirk

The committee was dissolved at 11:10 a.m. to caucus on the bills up for debate today on the agenda.

Upon completion of the caucuses at 11:55 a.m., Rep. Soderberg recognized Rep. Stewart Iverson for an introduction of HSB 628. Rep. Soderberg opened the floor for discussion of HSB 628. Following discussion, Rep. Soderberg recognized Rep. Iverson for closing remarks. Rep. Iverson then moved the bill. Roll was called and the bill passed 20-0, with all present voting aye. The bill will pass to the House floor as a committee bill.

Rep. Soderberg recognized Rep. Ralph Watts for an introduction of HF 594. Rep. Soderberg opened the floor for discussion of HF 594. Following discussion, Rep. Soderberg recognized Rep. Watts for closing remarks. Rep. Watts then moved the bill. Roll was called and the bill passed 21-0, with all present voting aye. The bill will pass to the House floor as a committee bill.

Rep. Soderberg recognized Rep. Matt Windschitl for an introduction of HF 2126. Rep. Windschitl introduced Amendment 3720. Following discussion, Rep. Windschitl moved the amendment. Amendment 3720 passed on a short form voice vote. Rep. Soderberg opened the floor to discussion of HF 2126, as amended. Following discussion, Rep. Soderberg recognized Rep. Windschitl for closing remarks. Rep. Windschitl then moved the bill. Roll was called. Those voting aye were, Representatives: Soderberg, Baltimore, Brandenburg, Fry, Grassley, Horbach, Paustian, Pettengill, Shaw, Smith, Wagner, Watts, Windschitl. Those voting no were Representatives: Quirk, Jacoby, Kajtazovic, Kressig, Lykam, Muhlbauer, Oldson, T. Olson. Receiving 13 aye votes and 8 no votes, the bill received the majority of the votes and will be passed to the House floor as a committee bill as amended.

Rep. Soderberg recognized Rep. Dawn Pettengill for an introduction of HSB 608. Rep. Pettengill introduced Amendment 3902. Following discussion, Rep. Pettengill moved the amendment. Amendment 3902 passed on a short form voice vote. Rep. Soderberg opened the floor to discussion of HSB 608, as amended. Following discussion, Rep. Soderberg recognized Rep. Pettengill for closing remarks. Rep. Pettengill then moved the bill. Roll was called. Rep. Pettengill then moved the bill. Roll was called. With a vote of 21 ayes and 0 nays, the bill was declared to have passed the committee and will move to the House floor as a committee bill as amended.

Rep. Soderberg recognized Rep. Dawn Pettengill for an introduction of HSB 621. Rep. Pettengill introduced Amendment 3914. Following discussion, Rep. Pettengill moved the amendment. Amendment 3914 passed on a short form voice

vote. Rep. Soderberg opened the floor to discussion of HSB 621, as amended. Following discussion, Rep. Soderberg recognized Rep. Pettengill for closing remarks. Rep. Pettengill then moved the bill. Roll was called. Rep. Pettengill then moved the bill. Roll was called. With a vote of 21 ayes and 0 nays, the bill was declared to have passed the committee and will move to the House floor as a committee bill as amended.

With there being no more action before the committee, Representative Grassley moved we arise. The committee was adjourned at 12:15 PM.

Representative Chuck Soderberg	
Andrew Soderberg, Committee Secretary	