COMMITTEE MINUTES for APPROPRIATIONS

Date: February 16, 2012 **Place:** Room 103

Convened: 2/16/2012 **Recessed:** 2/16/2012 **Reconvened:** 2/16/2012 **Adjourned:** 2/16/2012

2:05 PM 2:10 PM 2:35 PM 3:40 PM

Present: Representatives Raecker-CH, Wagner-VC, Olson, T.-RM, Chambers, Cohoon, Dolecheck,

Drake, Garrett, Gaskill, Hagenow, Hall, Heaton, Heddens, Huseman, Lukan, Murphy, Rogers,

Running-Marquardt, Schulte, Schultz, Taylor, T., Watts, Wenthe, Winckler, Worthan

Absent: None

Excused: None

Representative Raecker called the Appropriations Committee meeting to order. Roll was called and a quorum was present. Minutes from the February 15, 2012 meeting were approved.

Republicans and Democrats went to caucus at 2:05 PM.

Representative Raecker reconvened the meeting at 2:35 PM and recognized Representative Drake for opening remarks on LSB 5115, Agriculture and Natural Resources budget. The Chair received unanimous consent for Senator Muhlbauer to address the committee. Following discussion, Representative Drake was recognized for closing comments and moved LSB 5115, which passed, 15-10. Representatives voting aye: Raecker, Wagner, Chambers, Dolecheck, Drake, Garrett, Hagenow, Heaton, Huseman, Lukan, Rogers, Schulte, Schultz, Watts, Worthan. Representatives voting nay: Olson, Cohoon, Gaskill, Hall, Heddens, Murphy, Running-Marquardt, Taylor, Wenthe, Winckler. LSB 5115 will move to the House floor as a committee bill.

Representative Raecker returned the committee to LSB 5116, Economic Development budget, which was deferred from the February 15, 2012 meeting. After further discussion of LSB 5116, Representative Schultz offered closing comments and moved the bill, which passed, as amended, 15-10. Representatives voting aye: Raecker, Wagner, Chambers, Dolecheck, Drake, Garrett, Hagenow, Heaton, Huseman, Lukan, Rogers, Schulte, Schultz, Watts, Worthan. Representatives voting nay: Olson, Cohoon, Gaskill, Hall, Heddens, Murphy, Running-Marquardt, Taylor, Wenthe, Winckler. LSB 5116, as amended, will move to the House floor as a committee bill.

Representative Raecker recognized Representative Worthan for opening remarks on LSB 5119, Justice System budget. Representative Raecker recognized Representative Taylor for opening remarks on amendment LSB 5119HB.3999. Following additional comments, Representative Taylor moved the amendment, which failed, 10-15. Representatives voting aye: Olson, Cohoon, Gaskill, Hall, Heddens, Murphy, Running-Marquardt, Taylor, Wenthe, Winckler. Representatives voting nay: Raecker, Wagner, Chambers, Dolecheck, Drake, Garrett, Hagenow, Heaton, Huseman, Lukan, Rogers, Schulte, Schultz, Watts, Worthan. Representative Raecker recognized Representative Taylor for amendment LSB 5119.3971. Representative Taylor requested to withdraw the amendment. The Chair requested and received unanimous consent to withdraw amendment LSB 5119HB.3971. The Chair then returned the committee to LSB 5119. Discussion followed. Representative Worthan was recognized for closing remarks and moved LSB 5119, which passed, 15-10. Representatives voting aye: Raecker, Wagner, Chambers, Dolecheck, Drake, Garrett, Hagenow, Heaton, Huseman, Lukan, Rogers, Schulte, Schultz, Watts, Worthan. Representatives voting nay: Olson, Cohoon, Gaskill, Hall, Heddens, Murphy, Running-Marquardt, Taylor, Wenthe, Winckler. LSB 5119 will moved to the House floor as a committee bill.

With no further business to come before the committee, Representative Olson moved to arise.

Representative J. Scott Raecker	
Martha S. Raecker, Committee Secretary	