COMMITTEE MINUTES for EDUCATION

Date: February 15, 2012 Place: Room 22 Convened: 2/15/2012 Recessed: **Reconvened: Adjourned:** 2/15/2012 3:10 PM 4:00 PM **Present:** Senators Quirmbach-CH, Schoenjahn-VC, Hamerlinck-RM, Beall, Boettger, Bowman, Dvorsky, Feenstra, Hogg, Smith, R., Sodders, Wilhelm **Absent:** None **Excused:** Senator Johnson The meeting was called to order at 3:09 PM. Attendance was taken silently. Senator Quirmbach asked for a motion to approve the minutes of the 2/13/12 meeting. A motion to approve was made by Senator Sodders; motion was approved unanimously. Members went to caucus at 3:12 PM. The committee came back to order at 3:35 PMSenator Wilhelm introduced Senate File 3102 and made opening remarks. She then moved to vote "short form" on the bill; Senator Hamerlinck asked to be recorded as a "nay" vote. The bill passed to the calendar on a vote of 11 to Senator Dvorsky introduced Senate File 3003 and made opening remarks. There were two amendments. Amendment 3003.3776 passed unanimously on a short form vote. Amendment 3003.3748 also passed unanimously on a short form vote. Senator Dvorsky then returned to Senate File 3003. The bill was passed to the calendar as amended. The short form vote was unanimous. Senator Beall introduced Senate File 2044 and made opening remarks. one amendment. Amendment 2044.3906 passed unanimously on a short form vote. Senate File 2044 was passed, as amended, and moved to the calendar as a committee bill. The short form vote was unanimous. Senator Beall also introduced and made opening remarks regarding Senate File 2035. There was one amendment offered. Amendment 2035.3912 was adopted on a unanimous vote. Going back to the Senate File 2004, further remarks were made by Senator Hogg; a closing statement was made by Senator Beall. A short form vote passed Senate File 2035, as amended, to the calendar as a committee bill. The short form vote was unanimous. Senator Hamerlinck asked to have Senator Johnson excused. Senator Schoenjahn moved to arise at 4:00 PM. Senator Herman C. Quirmbach

Rebecca Hoeppner, Committee Secretary