## COMMITTEE MINUTES for PUBLIC SAFETY

**Date:** February 14, 2012 **Place:** Room 19

**Convened:** 2/14/2012 **Recessed:** 2/14/2012 **Reconvened:** 2/14/2012 **Adjourned:** 2/14/2012

1:05 PM 2:00 PM 5:10 PM 6:15 PM

**Present:** Representatives Baudler-CH, Shaw-VC, Kressig-RM, Abdul-Samad, Alons, Berry,

Brandenburg, Fry, Gaines, Hagenow, Klein, Muhlbauer, Olson, R., Olson, S., Rayhons,

Sands, Swaim, Tjepkes, Windschitl, Wolfe, Worthan

**Absent:** None

**Excused:** None

The meeting was called to order at 1:05 P.M.

Roll call was taken and a quorum was present.

As there were no corrections, amendments and/or deletions to the February 9, 2012 minutes, the minutes were unanimously approved.

Ranking Member Kressig announced the Democrats would caucus at 1:10 P.M. Several minutes after the Democrats went to caucus, Representative Alons requested a Republican caucus. The request was denied by Chairman Baudler.

The meeting reconvened at 1:45 P.M.

Chair Baudler recognized Representative Windschitl for opening remarks on HJR 2005, a Joint Resolution proposing an amendment to the Constitution of the State of Iowa relating to an individual's right to acquire, keep, possess, transport, carry, transfer, and use arms.

Chair Baudler recognized Representative Olson, R. for opening remarks on Amendment 3671 to HJR 2005. Chair Baudler recognized members of the committee for discussion on the amendment. Chair Baudler recognized Representative Olson, R. for final comments on Amendment 3671. Representative Olson, R. moved the amendment. A roll call was taken. Those voting aye included: Chair Baudler; Ranking Member Kressig; and Representatives Abdul-Samad; Berry; Gaines; Muhlbauer; Olson, R.; Swaim; Tjepkes; Wolfe and Worthan. Those voting nay included: Vice-Chair Shaw and Representatives Alons; Brandenburg; Fry; Hagenow; Klein; Olson, S.; Rayhons; Sands; and Windschitl.

Chair Baudler recognized Representative Windschitl for closing remarks on HJR 2005. Representative Windschitl moved HJR 2005. Those voting aye included: Chair Baudler, Vice-Chair Shaw, Ranking Member Kressig, and Representatives Abdul-Samad, Berry, Brandenburg, Fry, Gaines, Hagenow, Klein, Muhlbauer, Olson, R., Olson, S., Rayhons, Sands, Swaim, Tjepkes, Windschitl, Wolfe, and Worthan. Representative Alons voted nay. Having received an affirmative vote of a majority of the committee membership as required to report a bill out of committee, HJR 2005 moved to the House Floor as a committee bill.

Chair Baudler announced the Committee would reconvene immediately upon adjournment. The Committee recessed at 2:00 P.M.

The committee reconvened at 5:10 P.M.

Ranking Member Kressig announced the Democrats would caucus at 5:10 P.M.

Chair Baudler recognized Representative Windschitl for opening remarks on HF 2114: an act relating to state preemption of firearms, firearm accessories, and ammunition regulation by political subdivisions, and including penalties and remedies and applicability provisions.

Chair Baudler recognized Representative Windschitl for opening comments on Amendment 3852.

Representative Windschitl made opening remarks on the amendment. Representative Windschitl moved the amendment. Amendment 3852 passed unanimously with a voice vote.

Chair Baudler turned the meeting over to Vice Chair Shaw.

Vice Chair Shaw recognized Chair Baudler for opening comments on Amendment 3887. Vice Chair Shaw recognized members of the committee for discussion on the amendment. Vice Chair Shaw recognized Chair Baudler for closing comments on Amendment 3887. Chair Baudler moved the amendment. A record roll call vote was requested. Those members voting aye included: Chair Baudler, Ranking member Kressig; Abdul-Samad; Berry; Gaines; Muhlbauer; Olson, R.; Olson, S.; Swaim; Tjepkes; Wolfe; and Worthan. Those members voting nay included: Vice Chair Shaw, Representative Alons; Brandenburg; Fry; Hagenow; Klein; Rayhons; Sands; and Windschitl. Amendment 3887 passed.

Vice Chair Shaw turned the meeting over to Chair Baudler.

Chair Baudler recognized Representative Olson, R. for opening comments on Amendment 3896. Representative Olson, R. withdrew Amendment 3896.

Chair Baudler recognized members of the committee for discussion.

Chair Baudler recognized Representative Windschidtl for closing remarks on the bill as amended. Representative Windschidtl moved the bill as amended.

Those members voting aye included: Chair Baudler; Vice Chair Shaw; Ranking Member Kressig; and Representatives Berry; Brandenburg; Fry; Gaines; Hagenow; Klein; Muhlbauer; Olson, R.; Olson, S.; Rayhons; Sands; Swaim; Tjepkes, Windschidtl; Wolfe; and Worthan. Those members voting nay included: Representatives Abdul-samad and Alons.

Having received an affirmative vote of a majority of the committee membership as required to report a bill out of committee, HF 2114 as amended, moved to the House Floor as a committee bill.

As there was no additional business to come before the committee, Representative Olson, S. moved to adjourn. The committee was adjourned at 6:15 P.M.

Representative Clel Baudler	
Megan Hess, Committee Secretary	