## COMMITTEE MINUTES for HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES APPROPRIATIONS SUBCOMMITTEE

Date: February 14, 2012 Place: Room 116 Convened: 2/14/2012 **Recessed: Reconvened: Adjourned:** 2/14/2012 10:00 AM 11:30 AM **Present:** Senators Hatch-CH, Ragan-VC, Bacon, Bolkcom Representatives Heaton-CH, Brandenburg-VC, Heddens-RM, Berry, Fry, Miller, L., Shaw, Thede, Wessel-Kroeschell None Absent: **Excused:** Senator Johnson-RM Call to Order at 10:15 am. Roll Call Approval of Minutes Presentations on Health Care Workforce by: Michelle Holst - Department of Public Health (PRIMECARRE) Erin Drinnin - Department of Public Health (Direct Care Workers), Anne Peters, Owner of Home Instead Senior Care in Des Moines, and Becky Johnson, Direct Care Provider from Mitchell County. Dr. Michele Greiner - Iowa Psychological Association, and Dr. David Beaman. Dr. Michael Flaum - Co-Director, Mental Health Clinical Research Center, University of Iowa. Dr. Angela Walker Franklin, Ph.D - President, Des Mines University, Dr. Kindle Reed, Dean of Des Moines University, and Dr. Larry severts, Director of Family Residences Program, Broadlawns Hospital. Robert Bacon - Director, Iowa's University Center for Excellence on Disabilities, Center for Disabilities and Development. Meeting adjuourned at 11:30 am. Representative David E. Heaton

Phyllis Toy, Committee Secretary