## COMMITTEE MINUTES for WAYS AND MEANS

Date:	February 08, 2012	Place:	Room 102	
Convened:	2/8/2012 1:10 <b>Recessed:</b> PM	2/8/2012 2:00 <b>Reconv</b> PM	ened: 2/8/2012 4:05 Adjourned: PM	2/8/2012 6:10 PM
Present:	Representatives Sands-CH, Byrnes-VC, Jacoby-RM, Cownie, De Boef, Forristall, Grassley, Hein, Helland, Isenhart, Kajtazovic, Kaufmann, Kearns, Moore, Muhlbauer, Oldson, Paustian, Petersen, Pettengill, Quirk, Soderberg, Taylor, J., Thomas, Vander Linden, Willems			
Absent:	None			
Excused:	None			

Chairman Representative Sands called the meeting to order at 1:05 PM

Attendance was taken and quorum was present.

Minutes from the February 6th meeting were approved.

There were no bills assigned.

The committee stood at ease for both parties to caucus at 1:10 PM.

The committee was called back to order at 1:55 PM

The committee recessed at 1:58 PM

The committee reconvened at 4:05 PM

The committee stood at ease for both parties to caucus at 4:10 PM

The committee reconvened at 5:15 PM

Chairman Sands turned the chair over to Representative Byrnes.

Chairman Byrnes recognized Representative Sands for opening remarks on HSB 519. A study bill relating to property taxation and local government budgets by establishing and modifying property assessment limitations, providing for certain property tax replacement payments, establishing budget limitations for counties and cities, eliminating certain reporting requirements, making appropriations, and including applicability provisions.

The chair recognized Representative Sands for Amendment 3665. There were two amendments to the amendment. The Chair recognized Representative Jacoby for first Amendment to the Amendment 3697. The amendment was moved and failed with a vote of 10 Aye and 15 Nay. Record vote requested. Aye votes were Representatives: Jacoby, Isenhart, Kajtazovic, Kearns, Muhlbauer, Oldson, Petersen, Quirk, Thomas and Willems. Nay votes were Representatives: Sands, Byrnes, Cownie, De Boef, Forristall, Grassley, Hein, Helland, Kaufman, Moore, Paustian, Pettengill, Soderberg, Taylor, Vander Linden. The chair then recognized Representative Sands for the second Amendment to the Amendment 3721. The amendment was moved and was passed on short form. Representative Sands then moved the Amendment 3665 as amended and was passed on short form. Representative Sands moved HSB 519 bill as amended. The bill passed with 15 Aye to 10 Nay with 0 absent. The Nay votes were Jacoby, Isenhart, Kajtazovic, Kearns, Muhlbauer, Oldson, Petersen, Quirk, Thomas and Willems. The bill will move to the house floor as a committee bill as amended.

Chairman Byrnes then turned the chair back to Representative Sands.

As there was no additional business to come before the committee Representative J. Taylor moved to adjourn at 6:10 PM.

Representative Thomas R. Sands

Catherine Miller-Sands, Committee Secretary