## COMMITTEE MINUTES for APPROPRIATIONS

**Date:** February 08, 2012 **Place:** Room 103

Convened: 2/8/2012 1:05 Recessed: 2/8/2012 1:10 Reconvened: 2/8/2012 1:40 Adjourned: 2/8/2012 2:15

PM PM PM PM

**Present:** Representatives Raecker-CH, Wagner-VC, Olson, T.-RM, Chambers, Cohoon, Dolecheck,

Drake, Garrett, Gaskill, Hagenow, Hall, Heaton, Heddens, Huseman, Lukan, Murphy, Rogers,

Running-Marquardt, Schulte, Schultz, Taylor, T., Watts, Wenthe, Winckler, Worthan

**Absent:** None

**Excused:** None

Representative Wagner called the meeting to order at 1:05 PM. Roll was taken. Minutes from the February 6, 2012 meeting were unanimously approved. Both parties left to caucus at 1:10 PM.

The parties returned from caucus and continued the meeting at 1:40 PM. The Chair recognized Representative Worthan for opening comments on SF 2071, an Act relating to and making supplemental appropriations for the fiscal year beginning July 1, 2011, and including effective dates. The Chair recognized Representative Wagner for opening comments on amendment SF 2071.3709. Discussion of amendment SF 2071.3709 ensued. The Chair recognized Representative Wagner for closing comments on SF 2071.3709. Representative Wagner moved to pass SF 2071.3709, which passed 15-10. Representatives voting aye: Raecker, Wagner, Chambers, Dolecheck, Drake, Garrett, Hagenow, Heaton, Huseman, Lukan, Rogers, Schulte, Schultz, Watts, Worthan. Representatives voting nay: Olson, Cohoon, Gaskill, Hall, Heddens, Murphy, Running-Marquardt, Taylor, Wenthe, Winckler. The Chair recognized Representative Schulte for opening comments on amendment SF 2071.3656. Discussion of amendment SF 2071.3656 ensued. The Chair recognized Representative Schulte for closing comments on SF 2071.3656. Representative Schulte moved to pass SF 2071.3656, which passed 15-10. Representatives voting aye: Raecker, Wagner, Chambers, Dolecheck, Drake, Garrett, Hagenow, Heaton, Huseman, Lukan, Rogers, Schulte, Schultz, Watts, Worthan. Representatives voting nay: Olson, Cohoon, Gaskill, Hall, Heddens, Murphy, Running-Marquardt, Taylor, Wenthe, Winckler. The Chair recognized Representative Olson for comments on SF 2071. The Chair recognized Representative Worthan for closing remarks on SF 2071. Representative Worthan moved to pass SF 2071, as amended. SF 2071 passed unanimously.

The Chair recognized Representative Lukan for opening comments on HF 2203, an Act relating to employee stock ownership plans by encouraging the adoption of such plans by Iowa corporations, creating an individual income tax exemption, making an appropriation, and including retroactive applicability provisions. Discussion of HF 2203 ensued. The Chair recognized Representative Running-Marquardt for opening comments on amendment HF 2203.3675. The Chair recognized Representative Running-Marquardt for closing comments on amendment HF 2203.3675. Representative Running-Marquardt moved to pass amendment HF 2203.3675, which failed 10-15. Representatives voting aye: Olson, Cohoon, Gaskill, Hall, Heddens, Murphy, Running-Marquardt, Taylor, Wenthe, Winckler. Representatives voting nay: Raecker, Wagner, Chambers, Dolecheck, Drake, Garrett, Hagenow, Heaton, Huseman, Lukan, Rogers, Schulte, Schultz, Watts, Worthan. The Chair recognized Representative Lukan for opening comments on amendment HF 2203.3673. Representative Lukan moved to pass HF 2203.3673. The amendment passed unanimously, short form. The Chair recognized Representative Running-Marquardt for comments on HF 2203. Representative Worthan moved to pass HF 2203, as amended. HF 2203 passed unanimously.

With no other business to come before the committee, Representative Olson moved to arise at 2:15 PM.

Representative J. Scott Raecker	
Martha S. Raecker, Committee Secretary	