COMMITTEE MINUTES for EDUCATION

Convened: 2/6/2012 4:00 Recessed: 2/6/2012 4:10 Reconvened: 2/6/2012 4:30 Adjourned: 2/6/2012 4:45

PM PM PM PM

Present: Representatives Forristall-CH, Taylor, J.-VC, Steckman-RM, Abdul-Samad, Chambers,

Cohoon, Cownie, Dolecheck, Gaines, Hanson, Hanusa, Jorgensen, Kelley, Koester, Lofgren,

Mascher, Miller, L., Pearson, Schulte, Sweeney, Willems, Winckler

Absent: None

Excused: Representative Byrnes

Representative Forristall (CH) called the meeting to order at 4:00 PM.

Attendance was taken.

The minutes of the previous meeting were approved.

Representative Forristall (CH) assigned the following bills:

HF 2173--Taylor, J. (CH), Byrnes, Gaines

HF 2174--Byrnes (CH), Jorgensen, Kelley

HF 2191--Miller, L. (CH), Forristall, Mascher

HF 2192--Miller L. (CH), Forristall, Hanson

HF 2208--Byrnes (CH), Jorgensen, Mascher

HF 2216--Miller, L. (CH), Forristall, Steckman

HF 2217--Miller, L. (CH), Forristall, Steckman

HF 2218--Miller, L. (CH), Forristall, Steckman

Representative Forristall (CH) turned the chair over to Representative J. Taylor (VC). Representative J. Taylor recognized Representative Forristall for opening remarks on HSB 588. The committee went to caucus at 4:10.

The committee reconvened at 4:30, and Representative J. Taylor recognized Representative Steckman for opening remarks on Amendment 3645. Discussion followed. Representative Steckman was recognized for closing comments by the Chair and moved the Amendment. Amendment 3645 failed on a roll call vote with 9 Ayes (Representatives Steckman, Abdul-Samad, Cohoon, Gaines, Hanson, Kelley, Mascher, Willems and Winckler), 13 Nays, and one member absent (Byrnes).

The Chair recognized Representative Forristall for opening comments on HSB 588 (an act relating to requirements for the enactment of the state percent of growth and the categorical state percent of growth and including effective date provisions). After some discussion Representative Forristall made closing comments and moved HSB 588. On a roll call vote HSB 588 passed with 13 Ayes, 9 Nays (Representatives Steckman, Abdul-Samad, Cohoon, Gaines, Hanson, Kelley, Mascher, Willems and Winckler) and one member absent (Byrnes). Having received a constitutional majority, HSB 588 will pass to the Floor of the House as a committee bill.

AS there was no other business to come before the committee, Representative Lofgren moved for adjournment at $4:45~\mathrm{PM}$.

Representative Greg Forristall	

Carol Forristall, Committee Secretary