## COMMITTEE MINUTES for APPROPRIATIONS

| Date:     | April 14, 2011        |           |                       | lace:   | Rm 103, Supreme Court Chamber |            |                      |
|-----------|-----------------------|-----------|-----------------------|---------|-------------------------------|------------|----------------------|
| Convened: | 4/14/2011<br>11:05 AM | Recessed: | 4/14/2011<br>11:10 AM | Reconve | ened: 4/14/2011<br>12:00 PM   | Adjourned: | 4/14/2011<br>1:00 PM |

- **Present:** Representatives Raecker-CH, Wagner-VC, Olson, T.-RM, Chambers, Cohoon, Dolecheck, Drake, Garrett, Gaskill, Hagenow, Hall, Heaton, Heddens, Lukan, Murphy, Rogers, Running-Marquardt, Schulte, Schultz, Taylor, T., Watts, Wenthe, Winckler, Worthan
- Absent: None

**Excused:** Representative Huseman

Representative Raecker called the Appropriations Committee meeting to order at 11:05 AM. Roll was called, and a quorum was present. Minutes from the April 12, 2011 meeting were approved.

Republicans and Democrats went to caucus at 11:10 AM.

Representative Raecker reconvened the meeting at 12:00 PM and recognized Representative Wagner for opening remarks on HSB 238, a study bill relating to a state marketing and advertising expenditure plan and including effective date and retroactive applicability provisions. Representative Raecker then recognized Representative Wagner for opening comments on Amendment HSB 238.2623. Following discussion, Representative Wagner moved the amendment, which passed, short form. The Chair returned the committee to HSB 238, and discussion followed. The Chair recognized Representative Wagner who offered closing comments and moved HSB 238, which passed, 16-8.

Representative Raecker requested and received unanimous consent to dissolve the committee into a subcommittee of the whole and recognized Representative Schultz for opening comments on SF 517, a bill for an act relating to and making appropriations to the department of cultural affairs, the department of economic development, certain board of regents institutions, the department of workforce development, the Iowa finance authority, and the public employment relations board, and related matters and including immediate effective date and retroactive applicability provisions. Following discussion, Representative Schultz was recognized for closing remarks and moved the bill, which passed unanimously, short form.

The Chair requested and received unanimous consent to dissolve the subcommittee of the whole and return to the full committee. Representative Raecker recognized Representative Schultz for opening remarks on Amendment 517.2596.

Representative Raecker recognized Representative Running-Marquardt for opening remarks on Amendment 517.2615. Discussion followed, and Representative Running-Marquardt moved the amendment, which failed, 10-14. Representatives voting yes: Olson, Cohoon, Gaskill, Hall, Heddens, Murphy, Running-Marquardt, Taylor, Wenthe, Winckler. Representatives voting no: Raecker, Wagner, Chambers, Dolecheck, Drake, Garrett, Hagenow, Heaton, Lukan, Rogers, Schulte, Schultz, Watts, Worthan. Representative excused: Huseman.

Representative Raecker recognized Representative Running-Marquardt for opening remarks on Amendment 517.2598. Discussion followed. Representative Running-Marquardt was recognized for closing remarks and moved the amendment, which failed, 10-14. Representatives voting yes: Olson, Cohoon, Gaskill, Hall, Heddens, Murphy, Running-Marquardt, Taylor, Wenthe, Winckler. Representatives voting no: Raecker, Wagner, Chambers, Dolecheck, Drake, Garrett, Hagenow, Heaton, Lukan, Rogers, Schulte, Schultz, Watts, Worthan. Representative excused: Huseman.

The Chair returned committee discussion to Amendment 517.2596. Comments followed, and Representative Schultz moved the amendment. The amendment passed, short form.

Representative Raecker recognized Representative Olson for comments on SF 517. Following further discussion, Representative Schultz was recognized for closing comments and moved the bill, which passed, 14-10.

With no further business, Representative Olson moved to arise at 1:00 PM.

Representative Scott Raecker

Martha Raecker, Committee Secretary