## COMMITTEE MINUTES for EDUCATION

Date: March 30, 2011 Place: Room 22 Convened: 3/30/2011 **Recessed:** 3/30/2011 **Reconvened:** 3/30/2011 **Adjourned:** 3/30/2011 1:30 PM 1:35 PM 2:05 PM 1:55 PM **Present:** Senators Quirmbach-CH, Schoenjahn-VC, Hamerlinck-RM, Beall, Boettger, Bowman, Dvorsky, Feenstra, Hogg, Johnson, Smith, R., Sodders, Wilhelm **Absent:** None **Excused:** None The meeting was called to order at 1:32 PM. The meeting was recessed at 1:35 PM for a short caucus and reconvened at 1:54 PM. Senator Quirmbach recognized Senator Dvorsky. Senator Dvorsky brought forward Governor's Appointees Gina Primmer and Brian Thilges, appointees to the School Budget Review Committee. Both received short form voice vote approval to move to the En Bloc Calendar. Senator Ouirmbach recognized Senator Schoenjahn to take over the Chair. Senator Quirmbach brought forward Governor's Appointees Bruce Rastetter, Nicole Carroll, and Kathy Mulholland, all appointees to the State Board of Regents. All received short form voice vote approval to move to the Individual Confirmation Calendar. Senator Quirmbach also brought forward Governor's Appointee Gary Steinke, Iowa Higher Education Loan Authority. A unanimous short form voice vote approved his move to the Individual Confirmation Calendar. Senator Schoenjahn recognized Senator Quirmbach to resume the Chair. Senator Quirmbach commented on the status of HF 534. Senator Quirmbach yielded the Chair to Senator Schoenjahn. Senator Schoenjahn recognized Senator Quirmbach to take up Amendment 2190 to HF 493. Opening remarks were made by Senator Quirmbach. Senator Quirmbach then asked for There was none. Senator Quirmbach asked for a short form vote discussion. which passed the amendment unanimously. Closing remarks were made by Senator Quirmbach. Senator Ouirmbach then asked for a short form vote on HF 493 as amended. The vote was unanimous. Senator Schoenjahn returned the Chair to Senator Quirmbach. Senator Sodders moved to arise at 2:05 PM. Senator Herman C. Quirmbach

Rebecca Hoeppner, Committee Secretary