COMMITTEE MINUTES for EDUCATION

Date:	March 16, 201	1	Place:	Room 22		
Convened:	3/16/2011 1:00 PM	Recessed:	Reconve	ened:	Adjourned:	3/16/2011 2:00 PM
Present:	Senators Quirmbach-CH, Schoenjahn-VC, Hamerlinck-RM, Beall, Boettger, Bowman, Dvorsky, Hogg, Johnson, Smith, R., Wilhelm					
Absent:	None					
Excused:	Senators Feenstra, Sodders					
The meeting was called to order at 1:07 PM.						
A motion to approve the minutes of the March 9, 2011, meeting was made by Senator Beall. The minutes were approved unanimously.						
Governor's Appointees were reported approved in their various education subcommittees.						
From Senator Schoenjahn: Eric Goranson to the State Board of Education						
From Senator Beall: Jeff Gitchel, Jan Turbes, Rachel Heiss, Danielle Sharp, and Robin Sampson to the Iowa Autism Council						
From Senator Bowman: Larry Hill, Marianne Mickelson, and Merle Johnson to the Board of Educational Examiners						
From Senator Wilhelm: Jean Statlander, James Christensen, Mike Cass, and Donald Doudna to the Early Childhood Iowa State Board						
Senator Schoenjahn moved to recommend approval of all nominees en bloc.						
Brent Siegrist, Executive Director, Iowa AEA, was introduced by Senator Quirmbach. He spoke broadly about the AEA. Questions were proffered by Senators Quirmbach, Johnson, Bowman, Hogg, and Dvorsky.						
Senator Hogg moved to arise at 2:00 PM.						
Source Harmond C. O. Soule de						
Senator Herman C. Quirmbach						
Rebecca Hoe	ppner, Commi	ttee Secretary	_			