## COMMITTEE MINUTES for APPROPRIATIONS

**Date:** March 14, 2011 **Place:** Rm 103, Supreme Court Chamber

**Convened:** 3/14/2011 **Recessed:** 3/14/2011 **Reconvened:** 3/14/2011 **Adjourned:** 3/14/2011

10:00 AM 10:05 AM 11:15 AM 12:40 PM

Present: Representatives Raecker-CH, Wagner-VC, Olson, T.-RM, Chambers, Cohoon, Dolecheck,

Drake, Garrett, Gaskill, Hagenow, Hall, Heaton, Heddens, Huseman, Lukan, Murphy, Rogers,

Schulte, Schultz, Taylor, T., Watts, Wenthe, Winckler, Worthan

**Absent:** None

**Excused:** Representative Running-Marquardt

Representative Raecker called the Appropriations meeting to order at 10:00 AM. Roll was called; quorum present. Minutes from the previous meeting were approved.

Assignment of bills:

HSB 221 Wagner, Chair; Murphy, Rogers HF 457 Drake, Chair; Garrett, Wenthe HF 463 Garrett, Chair; Cohoon, Huseman HF 550 Drake, Chair; Garrett, Winckler

Republicans and Democrats went to caucus at 10:05 AM.

Representative Raecker reconvened the meeting at 11:15 AM.

Representative Raecker recognized Representative Huseman for opening remarks on HSB 220, An Act relating to and making, reducing, and transferring appropriations to state departments and agencies from the rebuild Iowa infrastructure fund, the technology reinvestment fund, the revenue bonds capitals fund, and other funds, providing for related matters and including effective date provisions. Representative Huseman was then recognized for amendment HSB220.1348. Comments followed. Representative Huseman offered closing comments and moved the amendment, which passed unanimously, short form. Representative Raecker recognized Representative Cohoon for amendment HSB 220.1353. Comments followed. Representative Cohoon made closing comments and moved the amendment, which failed, 9-15. Representatives voting aye: Olson, Cohoon, Gaskill, Hall, Heddens, Murphy, Taylor, Wenthe, Winckler. Representatives voting nay: Raecker, Wagner, Chambers, Dolecheck, Drake, Garrett, Hagenow, Heaton, Huseman, Lukan, Rogers, Schulte, Schultz, Watts, Worthan. Excused: Running-Marquardt. Representative Raecker recognized Representative Hall for opening remarks on amendment HSB220.1347. Comments followed. Representative Hall offered closing comments and moved the amendment, which failed, 9-15. Representatives voting aye: Olson, Cohoon, Gaskill, Hall, Heddens, Murphy, Taylor, Wenthe, Winckler. Representatives voting nay: Raecker, Wagner, Chambers, Dolecheck, Drake, Garrett, Hagenow, Heaton, Huseman, Lukan, Rogers, Schulte, Schultz, Watts, Worthan. Excused: Running-Marquardt. Representative Raecker returned the committee to HSB 220. Discussion followed and Representative Huseman moved HSB 220, which passed, as amended, 15-9, and will move to the floor as a committee bill.

Representative Raecker recognized Representative Heaton for opening remarks on LSB 1004HB, An Act relating to and making appropriations for health and human services and including other related provisions and appropriations, and including effective, retroactive, and applicability date provisions. Discussion followed. Representative Heaton was recognized for closing remarks and moved the bill, which passed, 15-9, and will to the floor as a committee bill.

With no further business, Representative Olson moved to arise.

Representative Scott Raecker	
Martha Raecker, Committee Secretary	