COMMITTEE MINUTES for COMMERCE

Date: March 02, 2011 Place: Rm 103, Supreme Court Chamber

Convened: 3/2/2011 Recessed: **Reconvened: Adjourned:** 3/2/2011

> 10:05 AM 11:30 AM

Representatives Soderberg-CH, Baltimore-VC, Quirk-RM, Brandenburg, Fry, Grassley, **Present:**

Horbach, Iverson, Jacoby, Kajtazovic, Kressig, Lykam, Muhlbauer, Oldson, Olson, T.,

Paustian, Pettengill, Shaw, Smith, J., Swaim, Wagner, Watts, Windschitl

Absent: None

Excused: None

The Commerce Committee met March 2, 2011 at 10:05 a.m. in room 103. The meeting was called to order by Chairman Chuck Soderberg. Roll was taken and a quorum was declared present.

The minutes from the previous meeting were approved.

The following bills were assigned to subcommittee:

HF 349: CH. Watts, Quirk, Wagner

HF 350: CH. Watts, Muhlbauer, Windschitl

HF 421: CH. Grassley, Kajtazovic, Smith

HSB 200: CH. Pettengill, Fry, Oldson

HSB 201: CH. Smith, Iverson, Kressig HSB 202: CH. Baltimore, Swaim, Wagner

HF 436: CH. Watts, Wagner, Quirk

The committee dissolved at 10:10 a.m. for caucus to discuss the bills up for consideration.

Upon reconvening at 11:00 a.m., Rep. Soderberg recognized Rep. Chip Baltimore for an introduction of HF 262. Rep. Soderberg recognized Rep. Baltimore for introduction of Amendment 858. Following discussion, Rep. Baltimore moved the amendment. Amendment 858 passed on a short form voice vote.

Rep. Soderberg opened the floor to discussion of HF 262, as amended. Following discussion, Rep. Soderberg recognized Rep. Baltimore for closing remarks. Rep. Baltimore then moved the bill. Roll was called. With a vote of 23 ayes and 0 nays, the bill was declared to have passed the committee and will pass to the House floor as a committee bill.

Rep. Soderberg recognized Rep. Ross Paustian for an introduction of HSB 158. Rep. Soderberg opened the floor to discussion of HSB 158. Following discussion, Rep. Soderberg recognized Rep. Paustian for closing remarks. Rep. Paustian then moved the bill. Roll was called. With a vote of 17 ayes and 6 nays, the bill was declared to have passed the committee and will pass to the House floor as a committee bill. Those voting aye were representatives: Soderberg, Baltimore, Quirk, Brandenburg, Fry, Grassley, Horbach, Iverson, Lykam, Muhlbauer, Paustian, Pettengill, Shaw, J. Smith, Wagner, Watts, Windschitl. Those voting nay were representatives: Jacoby, Kajtazovic, Kressig, Oldson, T. Olson, Swaim.

Chairman Soderberg relinquished the chair, promoting Vice Chair Chip Baltimore in order to consider HSB 124.

Rep. Baltimore recognized Rep. Chuck Soderberg for an introduction of HSB 124. Rep. Baltimore recognized Rep. Soderberg for introduction of Amendment 902. Following discussion, Rep. Soderberg moved the amendment. Amendment 902 passed on a short form voice vote.

Rep. Baltimore opened the floor to discussion of HSB 124, as amended. Following discussion, Rep. Baltimore recognized Rep. Soderberg for closing remarks. Rep. Soderberg then moved the bill. Roll was called. With a vote of 23 ayes and 0 nays, the bill was declared to have passed the committee and

will pass to the House floor as a committee bill.

Upon passage of HSB 124, Rep. Baltimore yielded the chair back to Rep. Soderberg.

Rep. Soderberg recognized Rep. Dawn Pettengill for an introduction of HSB 159. Rep. Soderberg opened the floor to discussion of HSB 159. Following discussion, Rep. Soderberg recognized Rep. Pettengill for closing remarks. Rep. Pettengill then moved the bill. Roll was called. With a vote of 23 ayes and 0 nays, the bill was declared to have passed the committee and will pass to the House floor as a committee bill.

Rep. Soderberg recognized Rep. Dawn Pettengill for an introduction of HSB 57. Rep. Soderberg opened the floor to discussion of HSB 57. Following discussion, Rep. Soderberg recognized Rep. Pettengill for closing remarks. Rep. Pettengill then moved the bill. Roll was called. With a vote of 14 ayes and 9 nays, the bill was declared to have passed the committee and will pass to the House floor as a committee bill. Those voting aye were representatives: Soderberg, Baltimore, Brandenburg, Fry, Grassley, Horbach, Iverson, Paustian, Pettengill, Shaw, J. Smith, Wagner, Watts, Windschitl. Those voting nay were representatives: Quirk, Kajtazovic, Kressig, Lykam, Muhlbauer, Oldson, T. Olson, Swaim.

With there being no more action before the committee, Representative Kajtazovic moved we arise. The committee was adjourned at 11:30 a.m.

Representative Chuck Soderberg	
Andrew Soderberg, Committee Secretary	