COMMITTEE MINUTES for STATE GOVERNMENT

Date: February 22, 2011 **Place:** Rm 103, Supreme Court Chamber

Convened: 2/22/2011 Recessed: Reconvened: Adjourned: 2/22/2011

1:05 PM 1:55 PM

Present: Representatives Cownie-CH, Vander Linden-VC, Lensing-RM, Drake, Gaskill, Hein,

Helland, Hunter, Isenhart, Iverson, Jorgensen, Kajtazovic, Kaufmann, Koester, Mascher,

Massie, Pettengill, Quirk, Rogers, Schulte, Taylor, T., Wenthe

Absent: None

Excused: Representative Raecker

The State Government Committee was called to order by Chair Cownie. Roll call was taken and a quorum present.

The minutes of the February 17th meeting were approved as printed.

Subcommittee assignments were distributed prior to meeting and Chair Cownie announced the assignments:

HSB 106 - Schulte/Chair, Massie, Hunter HSB 118 - Rogers/Chair, Hein, T. Taylor HSB 119 - Jorgensen/Chair, Koester, Gaskill HSB 120 - Schulte/Chair, Rogers, Isenhart HF 298 - Iverson/Chair, Drake, Mascher HF 314 - Helland/Chair, Hein, Lensing HF 315 - Jorgensen/Chair, Massie, Hunter HF 316 - Iverson/Chair, Rogers, Quirk

Chair Cownie announced HF 42 on today's agenda and both parties went to caucus at $1:10\ \mathrm{p.m.}$

Reconvened at 1:40 p.m.

Chair Cownie recognized Representative Pettengill for opening remarks on HF 42: A bill for an act repealing the Iowa plumber, mechanical professional, and contractor licensing Act. The subcommittee report of Pettengill and Kaufmann was signed and Quirk declined. Representative Pettengill gave opening comments and asked permission to take up Amendment .590, discussion followed, the amendment was adopted. Pettengill gave closing remarks and Chair Cownie moved HF 42 as amended as a committee bill on a roll call vote. 17 ayes, 5 nays, 1 absent.

Ayes: Representative Cownie, Vander Linden, Drake, Hein, Helland, Hunter, Isenhart, Iverson, Jorgensen, Kaufmann, Koester, Massie, Pettengill, Quirk, Rogers, Schulte, Wenthe.

Nays: Representative Lensing, Gaskill, Kajtazovic, Mascher, Taylor T.

With no further business Chair Cownie moved to adjourn.

The Committee adjourned at 1:55 p.m.

Representative Peter Cownie	

Marlene Martens, Committee Secretary