COMMITTEE MINUTES for HUMAN RESOURCES

Date: February 15, 2011 **Place:** Room 22

Convened: 2/15/2011 Recessed: Reconvened: Adjourned: 2/15/2011

3:05 PM 3:35 PM

Present: Senators Ragan-CH, Wilhelm-VC, Seymour-RM, Bacon, Boettger, Bolkcom, Dotzler,

Dvorsky, Jochum, Johnson, Quirmbach, Whitver

Absent: None

Excused: Senator Hatch

Committee Chair Ragan called the meeting to order at 3:04 pm.

The previous meetings minutes were approved.

Chair Ragan turned the chair over to Senator Wilhelm. Chair Wilhelm recognized Senator Ragan for introduction of SF 126. Senator Ragan introduced SF 126 and recommended passage. Following discussion Senator Ragan moved SF 126. Roll call vote was taken on the bill, the bill passed. Voting aye were Senators Ragan, Wilhelm, Bolkcom, Dotzler, Dvorsky, Jochum, and Quirmbach. Voting nay were Senators Seymour, Bacon, Boettger, Johnson and Whitver. The bill moves to the calendar as a committee bill.

Chair Wilhelm turned the chair back to Senator Ragan.

Chair Ragan recognized Senator Jochum for introduction of SF 103 . Senator Jochum introduced SF 103 distributed amendment .398 and recommended passage of both. Following discussion Senator Jochum requested a short form vote on the amendment. A short form vote was taken on the amendment to SF 103 and passed unanimously. Senator Jochum requested a short form vote on the bill. A short form vote was taken on the bill, passed unanimously. The bill passed and moved to the calendar under Rule 40 as a committee bill.

Chair Ragan recognized Senator Wilhelm for introduction of SF 152. Senator Wilhelm introduced SF 152 and recommended passage. Following discussion Senator Wilhelm requested a short form vote. A short form vote was taken on the bill, passed unanimously. The bill moves to the calendar as a committee bill.

Appointments

Senator Boettger recommended confirmation of Eric Oostenink for the Commission on Behavior Science and Harry Van Grevenhov to the Commission of Persons with Disabilities.

Senator Jochum recommended confirmation of Michelle Ray-Michalec for Commission of Persons with Disabilities and Paula Martinez for the Commission on Latino Affairs

Senator Quirmbach recommended confirmation of Ralph Wolf for Commission on Aging.

Senator Wilhelm recommended confirmation of Barbara Farber for Commission of Persons with Disabilities and Joan Jaimes for the Commission on Latino Affairs.

Senator Dvorsky recommended confirmation of Laurel Phipps for the Iowa Mental Health, Mental Retardation, Developmental Disabilities, and Brain Injury Commission.

Senator Seymour recommended confirmation of Sandra Sanchez-Naert for the Commission on Latino Affairs.

Senator Whitver recommended confirmation of Ramon Cantu and Sal Alaniz to the

Commission on Latino Affairs.

Senator Bacon recommended confirmation of LaSheila Yates for the Commission on Persons with Disabilities and Aida Bogaczyk for the Commission on Persons with Disabilities.

Senator Johnson recommended confirmation of James Rixner for the Commission on Persons with Disabilities.

Chair Ragan turned over the chair to Senator Wilhelm.

Senator Ragan recommended confirmation of Gary Schriver for the Commission on Persons with Disabilities and Judith Bevers for the Commission on Aging.

Chair Wilhelm turned the chair back to over to Senator Ragan.

Senator Dotzler recommended the appointments and requested a short form vote. The appointments move to the calendar en bloc.

Senator Dotzler recommended confirmation of Donna Harvey as Director of the Department on Aging.

Senator Dotzler recommended the appointment of Donna Harvey. The appointment moved to the calendar as an individual confirmation.

Senator Bolkcom moved for adjournment at 3:35.

| Senator Amanda Ragan | |
|--|-----|
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| Erica L. Shannon Stueve, Committee Secreta | ary |