COMMITTEE MINUTES for PUBLIC SAFETY

Date:	January 20, 2011		Place:	Room 19		
Convened:	1/20/2011 3:05 PM	Recessed:	Recon	vened:	Adjourned:	1/20/2011 3:50 PM
Present:	Representatives Baudler-CH, Shaw-VC, Kressig-RM, Abdul-Samad, Alons, Berry, Brandenburg, Fry, Gaines, Hagenow, Klein, Muhlbauer, Olson, R., Olson, S., Rayhons, Sands, Swaim, Tjepkes, Windschitl, Wolfe, Worthan					
Absent:	None					
Excused:	None					
Chair Baudler called the meeting to order at 3:05PM.						
Attendance was taken and a quorum was present.						
As there were no corrections, amendments, and/or deletions to the January 18th meeting minutes, they were unanimously approved.						
Subcommittees were assigned as follows:						

HSB 16 was assigned to a subcommittee of Representative Windschitl as chair, Representative Brandenburg and Representative Olson, R. HSB 17 was assigned to a subcommittee of Representative Windschitl as chair, Representative Brandenburg, Representative Baudler, Representative Olson, R. and Representative Kressig. HSB 18 was assigned to a subcommittee of Representative Windschitl as chair, Representative Brandenburg, and Representative Olson, R. HSB 19 was assigned to a subcommittee of Representative Tjepkes as chair, Representative Olson, S., Representative Baudler, Representative Olson, R. and Representative Kressig. HSB 20 was assigned to a subcommittee of Representative Windschitl as chair, Representative Kressig. HSB 20 was assigned to a subcommittee of Representative Windschitl as chair, Representative Fry, and Representative Olson, R. HF 29 was assigned to a subcommittee of Representative Sands as chair, Representative Tjepkes, and Representative Abdul-Samad.

Commissioner of Public Safety Larry Noble addressed the committee. He continued from the previous meeting and spoke on interoperability and the switch to Narrowband communications. Speaker Jim Bogner, a member of Iowa Interoperability Board elaborated on the reasons, equipment, and funding needed to complete the switch. Commissioner Noble was joined by Captain Todd Misel, Colonel Hoye, and Executive Officer Steve Bogle.

As there was no additional business to come before the committee,Representative Olson, R. moved to adjourn.

Representative Clel Baudler

Jennifer Erstad, Committee Secretary