COMMITTEE MINUTES for PUBLIC SAFETY

Date:	January 18, 2011		Place:	Room 19		
Convened:	1/18/2011 1:30 PM	Recessed:	Reconve	ened:	Adjourned:	1/18/2011 1:55 PM

- **Present:** Representatives Baudler-CH, Shaw-VC, Kressig-RM, Abdul-Samad, Alons, Berry, Brandenburg, Fry, Gaines, Hagenow, Klein, Muhlbauer, Olson, R., Olson, S., Rayhons, Sands, Swaim, Tjepkes, Windschitl, Wolfe, Worthan
- Absent: None

Chair Baudler called the meeting to order at 1:30PM. Roll call was taken and a quorum was present.

As there were no corrections, amendments, and/or deletions to the January 12th meeting minutes, they were unanimously approved.

Subcommittees were assigned and announced. HF 7 was assigned to the subcommittee of Representative Windschitl as chair, Representative Hagenow, Representative Baudler, Representative Kressig and Representative Olson, R. HSB 4 was assigned to the subcommittee of Representative Sands as chair, Representative Fry and Representative Wolfe. HSB 5 was assigned to the subcommittee of Representative Sands as chair, Representative Fry, and Representative Abdul-Samad.

Chair Baudler introduced guest speaker, Commissioner of Public Safety Larry Noble. Noble discussed federal funding and the status of the Iowa State Patrol's personnel. He then answered questions from committee memebers regarding computer system security, the ILEA, intercommunication with DCI, protective equipment and peace officer training. Colonel Hoye expanded on some of the issues brought to attention.

Commissioner Noble was scheduled to attend the next Public Safety meeting on Thursday, January 20th at 3:00PM.

As there was no additional business to come before the committee, Representative Olson, R. moved to adjourn.

Representative Clel Baudler

Jennifer Erstad, Committee Secretary

Excused: None