COMMITTEE MINUTES for WAYS AND MEANS

Date: March 15, 2010 **Place:** Rm 102, Supreme Court Consult Rm

Convened: 3/15/2010 Recessed: Reconvened: Adjourned: 3/15/2010

4:10 PM 5:35 PM

Present: Representatives Shomshor-CH, Olson, T.-VC, Sands-RM, Bell, Bukta, Forristall, Frevert,

Grassley, Hagenow, Helland, Huser, Isenhart, Kaufmann, Miller, L., Olson, D., Petersen, Pettengill, Reasoner, Schueller, Steckman, Struyk, Thomas, Wagner, Willems, Windschitl

Absent: None

Excused: None

Representative Shomshor called the Committee to order at 4:10 PM. Clerk called the roll. Minutes from the previous meeting were approved. Representative Shomshor announced the bills to be discussed during the meeting. Representative Shomshor relinquished the chairmanship to Representative T. Olson. Representative T. Olson recognized Representative Shomshor for opening comments on HSB 738. Both parties went to caucus.

Representative T. Olson recognized Representative Shomshor for opening comments on Amendment 2198. Representative Shomshor stated that division A of the amendment consists of page 1 lines 2 through10 and division B consists of page 1 line 11 to the end of the bill. Representative Shomshor requested consent to withdraw Division A. There were no objections. Representative Shomshor moves Division B in short form. Division B of Amendment 2198 passed unanimously with all present voting aye by voice vote.

Representative T. Olson recognized Representative Shomshor for opening comments on Amendment 2154. Seeing no discussion, Representative Shomshor moved Amendment 2154. Amendment 2154 passed unanimously by voice vote.

Representative T. Olson recognized Representative Helland for opening comments on Amendment 2155. Discussion followed. Representative Helland gave closing comments and moved Amendment 2155. Representative Sands requested a division and a record, seconded by L. Miller. Clerk called the record roll call vote. Amendment 2155 failed, 14 nays and 11 ayes. Those voting nay were Representatives Shomshor, Olson, T., Bell, Bukta, Frevert, Huser, Isenhart, Olson, D., Petersen, Reasoner, Schueller, Steckman, Thomas, and Willems. Those voting aye were Representatives Sands, Forristall, Grassley, Hagenow, Helland, Kaufmann, Miller, L., Pettengill, Struyk, Wagner, and Windschitl.

Discussion on HSB 738 as amended followed. Representative Shomshor offered closing comments and moved HSB 738 as amended. Clerk called the roll call vote. HSB 738 passed, 14 ayes and 11 nays. Those voting aye were Representatives Shomshor, Olson, T., Bell, Bukta, Frevert, Huser, Isenhart, Olson, D., Petersen, Reasoner, Schueller, Steckman, Thomas, and Willems. Those voting nay were Representatives Sands, Forristall, Grassley, Hagenow, Helland, Kaufmann, Miller, L., Pettengill, Struyk, Wagner, and Windschitl.

Representative T. Olson returned the chairmanship to Representative Shomshor. Representative Shomshor recognized T. Olson for opening comments on HF 2088. Representative Shomshor recognized Representative Pettengill for opening comments on the strike-after Amendment 1462. Discussion followed. Representative Pettengill offered closing comments on Amendment 1462. Clerk called the record roll call vote. Amendment 1462 failed, 12 nays and 12 ayes. Those voting nay were Representatives Shomshor, Olson, T., Bell, Bukta, Frevert, Isenhart, Olson, D., Petersen, Reasoner, Steckman, Thomas, and Willems. Those voting aye were Representatives Sands, Forristall, Grassley, Hagenow, Helland, Kaufmann, Miller, L., Pettengill, Schueller, Struyk, Wagner, and Windschitl.

Representative T. Olson was recognized for opening comments on Amendment 2116. Amendment 2116 passed unanimously by voice vote.

Representative Wagner was recognized for opening comments on Amendment 2115. Discussion followed. Clerk called the roll call vote on Amendment 2115. Amendment 2115 passed unanimously 25-0 with all present voting aye.

Discussion returned to HF 2088 as amended. Representative T. Olson moved HF 2088 and the clerk called the roll. HF 2088 passed 25-0 with all present voting aye.

Representative Shomshor recognized Representative Isenhart for opening comments on HSB 651. Representative Isenhart requested unanimous consent to substitute SF 2363 for HSB 651. There were no objections. Brief discussion followed. Representative Isenhart gave closing comments and moved SF 2363. Clerk called the roll call vote. SF 2363 passed 25-0 with all present voting aye.

further	business,	Representative	Thomas	moved	to	adjourn	at	5:35	pm.
e Paul C. Sh	omshor								
		further business,			· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·				further business, Representative Thomas moved to adjourn at 5:35

Sara Birkenholz, Committee Secretary