COMMITTEE MINUTES for APPROPRIATIONS

Date: March 09, 2010 **Place:** Rm 103, Supreme Court Chamber

Convened: 3/9/2010 **Recessed:** 3/9/2010 **Reconvened:** 3/9/2010 **Adjourned:** 3/9/2010

10:05 AM 10:10 AM 11:00 AM 11:55 AM

Present: Representatives Oldson-CH, Wenthe-VC, Raecker-RM, Alons, Bailey, Cohoon, Cownie, De

Boef, Dolecheck, Gayman, Heaton, Heddens, Hunter, Huseman, Jacoby, Kressig, Lukan,

Reichert, Roberts, Swaim, Taylor, T., Watts, Winckler, Worthan, Zirkelbach

Absent: None

Excused: None

Chairperson Oldson called the meeting to order at 10:05 a.m. Roll was called. A quorum was present. Members who were not present at the time, were excused until their arrival. Minutes from the previous meeting were approved.

Chairperson Oldson stated that the committee would consider the following bills; HSB 733, HSB 732 and HSB 731. The committee was recessed for caucuses of both parties. The committee reconvened following caucuses.

Chairperson Oldson asked for and received unanimous consent to have the minutes reflect that HF 2502 and SF 2366 were assigned to subcommittees and that those assignments were printed in the House Journal for March 2. Chairperson Oldson announced the following assignments:

HF 2502 T. Taylor, chair Cohoon and Roberts

SF 2366 Oldson, chair

Dolecheck and Wenthe

Chairperson Oldson recognized Rep. Reichert for consideration of HSB 733, an Act relating to and making appropriations involving state government, by providing for agriculture, natural resources, and environmental protection, and including effective date provisions. Rep. Reichert explained the proposed legislation. Chairperson Oldson recognized Rep. Reichert for amendment 733.2001. Rep. Reichert explained the amendment and moved its adoption. Short form was requested. The amendment was adopted on a voice vote. Chairperson Oldson stated that the committee was on the bill as amended and recognized the following representatives for questions and comments: De Boef and Raecker. Chairperson Oldson recognized Rep. Reichert for closing remarks on HSB 733. Rep. Reichert moved that HSB 733 as amended be sent to the House for further consideration. Roll was called. The motion was adopted by a vote of 14 ayes and 11 nays. The following members voted aye: Oldson, Wenthe, Bailey, Cohoon, Gayman, Heddens, Hunter, Jacoby, Kressig, Reichert, Swaim, Taylor T., Winckler, Zirkelbach. The following members voted nay: Raecker, Alons, Cownie, De Boef, Dolecheck, Heaton, Huseman, Lukan, Roberts, Watts, Worthan. The bill goes to the House calendar as a committee bill.

Chairperson Oldson recognized Rep. T. Taylor for consideration of HSB 732, an Act relating to and making appropriations to the judicial branch. Rep. T. Taylor explained the proposed legislation. Chairperson Oldson recognized Representative Worthan for questions and comments. Chairperson Oldson recognized Rep. T. Taylor for closing remarks on HSB 732. Rep. T. Taylor moved that HSB 732 be sent to the House for further consideration. Roll was called. The motion was adopted by a vote of 14 ayes and 11 nays. The following members voted aye: Oldson, Wenthe, Bailey, Cohoon, Gayman, Heddens, Hunter, Jacoby, Kressig, Reichert, Swaim, Taylor T., Winckler, Zirkelbach. The following members voted nay: Raecker, Alons, Cownie, De Boef, Dolecheck, Heaton, Huseman, Lukan, Roberts, Watts, Worthan. The bill goes to the House calendar as a committee bill.

Chairperson Oldson recognized Rep. T. Taylor for consideration of HSB 731, an Act relating to and making appropriations to the justice system, and including

effective date provisions. Rep. T. Taylor explained the proposed legislation. Chairperson Oldson recognized Rep. T. Taylor for amendment 731.4749. Rep. T. Taylor explained the proposed amendment. Chairperson Oldson recognized the following representatives for questions and comments: Worthan and Heaton. Rep. Zirkelbach asked for and received unanimous consent that Mr. Gary Sherzan, representing the Department of Corrections, be allowed to respond to questions. Chairperson Oldson recognized Rep. T. Taylor for closing remarks on amendment 731.4749. Rep. T. Taylor moved the amendment. Short form was requested. The amendment was adopted on a voice vote. Chairperson Oldson stated the committee was on the bill as amended. Chairperson Oldson recognized the following representatives for questions and comments: Heaton, Worthan and Watts. Chairperson Oldson recognized Rep. T. Taylor for closing remarks. Rep. T. Taylor moved that HSB 731 be sent to the House for further consideration. Roll was called. The motion was adopted by a vote of 14 ayes, 10 nays and 1 absent. The following members voted aye: Oldson, Wenthe, Bailey, Cohoon, Gayman, Heddens, Hunter, Jacoby, Kressig, Reichert, Swaim, Taylor T., Winckler, Zirkelbach. The following members voted nay: Raecker, Alons, Cownie, De Boef, Dolecheck, Heaton, Huseman, Roberts, Watts, Worthan. Representative Lukan was absent. The bill goes to the House calendar as a committee bill.

Rep.	De	Boef	moved	that	the	committee	adjourn	at	11:55	a.m.
Repres	senta	tive Jo	Oldson							

Cathy Jury, Committee Secretary