COMMITTEE MINUTES for HUMAN RESOURCES

Date:	March 03, 2010 Place:		Rm 103, Supreme Court Chamber		
Convened:	3/3/2010 2:35 Recessed: PM	Reconver	ned:	Adjourned:	3/3/2010 3:45 PM
Ducconte	Donnegontatives Smith CII De	WC Millow I DM	Abdul Como	d Alona Doudlan	

- Present:Representatives Smith-CH, Berry-VC, Miller, L.-RM, Abdul-Samad, Alons, Baudler,
Forristall, Heaton, Heddens, Hunter, Jacoby, Koester, Mascher, Olson, T., Petersen, Schulte,
Soderberg, Steckman, Thede, Upmeyer, Wessel-Kroeschell
- Absent: None
- Excused: None

Vice Chair Berry called the meeting to order at 2:34 p.m. Roll was called and a quorum was present.

The minutes of the 3/1/2010 meeting were approved.

Vice Chair Berry made the following bill assignments:

SF 2356 - Hunter, Ch; Abdul-Samad, Upmeyer

Both parties went to caucus at 2:35 p.m. The committee reconvened at 3:17 p.m.

Chair Smith recognized Rep. Thede for opening remarks on SF 2331. Discussion followed. A roll vote was taken and SF 2331 passed: 21 - ayes; 0 - nays. Ayes - Smith, Berry, Abdul-Samad, Heddens, Hunter, Jacoby, Mascher, T. Olson, Petersen, Steckman, Thede, Wessel-Kroeschell, Miller, Alons, Baudler, Forristall, Heaton, Koester, Schulte, Soderberg, Upmeyer; Nays - 0. SF 2331 will move to the House floor as a Senate bill.

Chair Smith asked for unanimous consent to dissolve into a subcommittee of the whole for discussion of SF 2356. Chair Smith recognized members of the healthcare commission in attendance: Anne Kinzel, Coordinator of Healthcare Commission; David Carlisle, M.D., Chair of Healthcare Commission. Discussion of the bill followed. Rep. Hunter moves that subcommittee adopts SF 2356. Subcommittee recommends the adoption of SF 2356 by voice vote.

Rep. Olson recommends that the subcommittee of the whole dissolves and move back to committee of the whole. Recommendation passes by voice vote. Chair Smith relinquishes the Chair to Vice Chair Berry who recognized Rep. Smith for opening remarks on SF 2356. Discussion followed. A roll vote was taken and SF 2356 passed: 19 - ayes; 2 - nays. Ayes - Smith, Berry, Abdul-Samad, Heddens, Hunter, Jacoby, Mascher, T. Olson, Petersen, Steckman, Thede, Wessel-Kroeschell, Miller, Forristall, Heaton, Koester, Schulte, Soderberg, Upmeyer; Nays - Alons, Baudler. SF 2356 will move to the House floor as a Senate bill.

Representative Petersen moved to arise.

The meeting adjourned at 3:43 p.m.

Representative Mark D. Smith

Karen Lischer, Committee Secretary