## **COMMITTEE MINUTES for EDUCATION**

Date: February 10, 2010 Place: Rm 103, Supreme Court Chamber

Convened: 2/10/2010 **Recessed: Reconvened: Adjourned:** 2/10/2010

> 1:05 PM 2:20 PM

**Present:** Representatives Wendt-CH, Ficken-VC, May-RM, Abdul-Samad, Bukta, Chambers, Cohoon,

Cownie, Dolecheck, Ford, Forristall, Kelley, Koester, Mascher, Miller, L., Palmer, Raecker,

Steckman, Sweeney, Thede, Tymeson, Willems, Winckler

Absent: None

**Excused:** None

The meeting was called to order at 1:07 pm.

Attendance was taken.

The minutes of the last meeting February 8, 2010 were approved.

HF 2291 Cohoon-Ch. Thede, Sweeney

HF 2296 Steckman-Ch. Ficken, May

HF 2298 Ficken-Ch. Chambers, Palmer

HF 2315 Cohoon-Ch. Wendt, May

HF 2316 Cohoon-Ch. Mascher, Dolecheck HF 2317 Cohoon-Ch. Wendt, Chambers

HF 2323 Mascher-Ch. Forristall, Wendt

HF 2325 Cohoon-Ch. Ford, May

The Chair and Representative May asked for caucas.

The Chair recognized Representative Steckman for opening comments on HSB 2040.

The Chair recognized Representative Ford for reconsideration of Amendment 635 to Amendment 573. The motion to reconsider passed with 13 ayes and 10 nays. Voting aye were Representatives Wendt, Ficken, Abdul Samad, Bukta, Cohoon, Ford, Kelley, Masher, Palmer, Steckman, Thede, Willems and Winckler. Voting nay were Representatives May, Chambers, Cownie, Dolecheck, Forristall, Koester, Miller L., Raecker, Sweeney and Tymeson.

The Chair recognized Representative Raecker for Amendment 635 to Amendment Representative Raecker moved Amendment 635. Amendment 635 failed to pass with 11 ayes and 12 nays. Voting aye were Representatives May, Chambers, Cownie, Dolecheck, Forristall, Kelley, Koester, Miller L., Raecker, Sweeney and Tymeson. Voting nay were Representatives Wendt, Ficken, Abdul Samad, Bukta, Cohoon, Ford, Masher, Palmer, Steckman, Thede, Willems and Winckler.

The Chair recognized Representative Raecker to withdraw Amendment 638.

The Chair recognized Representative Steckman for Amendment 573 to HF 2040. Representative Steckman moved Amendment 573. Amendment 573 passed by voice vote.

Representative Steckman moved HF 2040 as amended. HF 2040, as amended passed with 21 ayes and 2 nays. Voting aye were Representatives Wendt, Ficken, May, Abdul Samad, Bukta, Chamber, Cohoon, Cownie, Dolecheck, Ford, Forristall, Kelley, Koester, Mascher, Miller L., Palmer, Steckman, Sweeney, Thede, Willems and Winckler. Voting nay were Representatives Raecker and Tymeson. HF 2040 as amended passed to the floor as a committee bill. Amendment 573.

The Chair recognized Representative Palmer for HSB 671.

The Chair recognized Representative Palmer for Amendment 894. Representative Palmer moved Amendment 894. Amendment 894 passed with voice vote.

Representative Palmer moved HSB 671 as amended. HSB 671, as amended, passed with 14 ayes and 9 nays. Voting aye were Representatives Wendt, Ficken, Abdul Samad, Bukta, Cohoon, Ford, Kelley, Masher, Palmer, Steckman, Sweeney, Thede, Willems and Winckler. Voting nay were Representatives May, Chambers, Cownie, Dolecheck, Forristall, Koester, Miller L., Raecker, and Tymeson HSB 671, as amended, passed to the floor as a committee bill.

Amendment 894.

The Chair recognized Representative Ford HF 2185.

The Chair recognized Representative Ford for Amendment 633. Representative Ford moved Amendment 633. Amendment 633 passed with voice vote.

Representative Ford moved HF 2185 as amended. HF 2185, as amended, passed with 23 ayes. Voting aye were Representatives Wendt, Ficken, May, Abdul Samad, Bukta, Chamber, Cohoon, Cownie, Dolecheck, Ford, Forristall, Kelley, Koester, Mascher, Miller L., Palmer, Raecker, Steckman, Sweeney, Thede, Tymeson, Willems and Winckler. HF 2185, as amended, passed to the floor as a committee bill.

Amendment 633

The Chair recognized Representative Ford HF 620.

The Chair recognized Representative Ford for Amendment 360. Representative Ford moved Amendment 360. Amendment 360 passed with voice vote.

Representative Ford moved HF 620 as amended. HF 630, as amended, passed with 23 ayes. Voting aye were Representatives Wendt, Ficken, May, Abdul Samad, Bukta, Chamber, Cohoon, Cownie, Dolecheck, Ford, Forristall, Kelley, Koester, Mascher, Miller L., Palmer, Raecker, Steckman, Sweeney, Thede, Tymeson, Willems and Winckler. HF 620, as amended, passed to the floor as a committee bill.

Amendment 360.

Representative Cohoon adjourned the committee at 2:20 pm.

Representative Roger F. Wendt	
Erica L. Shannon, Committee Secretary	