COMMITTEE MINUTES for EDUCATION

Date: February 08, 2010 Place: Rm 103, Supreme Court Chamber

Convened: 2/8/2010 5:10 **Recessed:** 2/8/2010 5:20 **Reconvened:** 2/8/2010 5:55 **Adjourned:** 2/8/2010 6:25

Present: Representatives Wendt-CH, Ficken-VC, May-RM, Abdul-Samad, Bukta, Chambers, Cohoon,

Cownie, Dolecheck, Ford, Forristall, Kelley, Koester, Mascher, Miller, L., Palmer, Raecker,

Steckman, Sweeney, Thede, Tymeson, Willems, Winckler

Absent: None

Excused: None

The meeting was called to order at 5:08 pm.

Attendance was taken.

The minutes of the last meeting February 3, 2010 were approved.

The following bills were assigned.

HF 2244 (Ch) Cohoon, Thede, Dolecheck

HF 2247 (Ch) Mascher, Cohoon, Sweeney

HF 2254 (Ch) Wendt, Ficken, Tymeson

HF 2261 (Ch) Cohoon, Palmer, Koester HF 2268 (Ch) Cohoon, Raecker, Wendt

HF 2269 (Ch) Mascher, Thede, Tymeson HF 2270 (Ch) Cohoon, May, Wendt

HF 2271 (Ch) Cohoon, Thede, May

The Chair recognized Representative Mascher for opening comments on HSB 2189.

The Chair recognized Representative Sweeney for comments on Amendment 729. Representative Sweeney moved Amendment 729. Amendment .729 failed to pass with 10 ayes and 13 nays. Voting aye were Representatives May, Chambers, Cownie, Dolecheck, Forristall, Koester, Miller L., Raecker, Sweeney and Tymeson. Voting nay were Representatives Wendt, Ficken, Abdul Samad, Bukta, Cohoon, Ford, Kelley, Masher, Palmer, Steckman, Thede, Willems and Winckler.

Representative Masher moved HF 2189. HF 2189 passed with 13 ayes and 10 nays. Voting aye were Representatives Wendt, Ficken, Abdul Samad, Bukta, Cohoon, Ford, Kelley, Masher, Palmer, Steckman, Thede, Willems and Winckler. Voting nay were Representatives May, Chambers, Cownie, Dolecheck, Forristall, Koester, Miller L., Raecker, Sweeney and Tymeson. HF 2189 passed to the floor as a committee bill.

The Chair recognized Representative Steckman for opening comments on HSB 2040.

The Chair recognized Representative Steckman for Amendment 573.

The Chair recognized Representative Raecker for Amendment 637 to Amendment 573. Representative Raecker move Amendment 637. Amendment 637 failed to pass with 10 ayes and 13 nays. Voting aye were Representatives May, Chambers, Cownie, Dolecheck, Forristall, Koester, Miller L., Raecker, Sweeney and Tymeson. Voting nay were Representatives Wendt, Ficken, Abdul Samad, Bukta, Cohoon, Ford, Kelley, Masher, Palmer, Steckman, Thede, Willems and Winckler.

The Chair recognized Representative Raecker for Amendment 635 to Amendment 573. Representative Raecker move Amendment 635. Amendment 635 passed with 12 ayes and 11 nays. Voting aye were Representatives May, Chambers, Cownie, Dolecheck, Ford, Forristall, Kelley, Koester, Miller L., Raecker, Sweeney and Tymeson. Voting nay were Representatives Wendt, Ficken, Abdul Samad, Bukta, Cohoon, Masher, Palmer, Steckman, Thede, Willems and Winckler.

The Chair deferred Amendment 573, with Amendment 635, and HF 2040 until further notice.

| Representative | Mascher | adjourned | the | meeting | at | 6:27 | pm. |
|----------------------|---------|-----------|-----|---------|----|------|-----|
| | | | | | | | |
| | | | | | | | |
| | | | | | | | |
| Representative Roger | | | | | | | |
| | | | | | | | |
| | | | | | | | |
| | | | | | | | |
| Erica L. Shannon, Co | | | | | | | |