COMMITTEE MINUTES for HUMAN RESOURCES

Date:	February 03, 2010	Place:	Rm 103, Supreme Court Chamber	
Convened:	2/3/2010 1:05 Recessed: PM	2/3/2010 2:00 Reconv PM	ened: 2/3/2010 5:10 Adjourned: PM	2/3/2010 5:45 PM
Present:	Representatives Smith-CH, Berry-VC, Miller, LRM, Abdul-Samad, Alons, Baudler, Forristall, Heaton, Heddens, Hunter, Koester, Mascher, Olson, T., Petersen, Schulte, Soderberg, Steckman, Thede, Upmeyer, Wendt, Wessel-Kroeschell			
Absent:	None			
Excused:	None			

Chair Smith called the meeting to order at 1:05 p.m. Roll was called and a quorum was present.

The minutes of the 2/1/2010 meeting were approved.

Chair Smith made the following bill assignments:

HSB 673 - Berry, Ch; Koester, Petersen
HF 2150 - Heddens, Ch; Wendt, Heaton
HF 2149 - Mascher, Ch; Hunter, Miller
HF 2158 - Wessel-Kroeschell, Ch; Steckman, Soderberg
HF 2209 - Mascher, Ch; Forristall, Hunter
HF 2184 - Heddens, Ch; Wendt, Heaton
HF 2179 - Smith, Ch; Wendt, Baudler
HF 2178 - Mascher, Ch; Hunter, Schulte
HF 2177 - Mascher, Ch; Hunter, L. Miller

Both parties were to caucus at 1:08 p.m. The committee reconvened at 1:36 p.m.

Chair Smith recognized Rep. Wessel-Kroeschell for opening remarks on HSB 511. Chair Smith recognized Rep. Wessel-Kroeschell for opening remarks on Amendment 517. Discussion followed. Amendment 517 passed with unanimous vote by voice vote.

The Committee recessed at 2:00 p.m. The committee reconvened at 5:12 p.m.

Discussion continued. Chair Smith recognized Rep. Wessel-Kroeschell for closing remarks. Roll vote was taken and HF 511, as amended, passed: 12 ayes; 8 - nays; 1 - absent. Ayes - Smith, Berry, Abdul-Samad, Heddens, Hunter, Mascher, T. Olson, Petersen, Steckman, Thede, Wendt, Wessel-Kroeschell; Nays -L. Miller, Alons, Forristall, Heaton, Koester, Schulte, Soderberg, Upmeyer; Absent - Baudler. Having received a constitutional majority, the bill moves onto the floor of the house as a Committee Bill.

Chair Smith recognized Rep. Wendt for opening remarks on HF 621. Chair Smith recognized Rep. Wendt for opening remarks on Amendment 570. Amendment 570 was adopted to HSB 621 by unanimous consent by voice vote. Discussion followed. Roll vote was taken and HF 621 as amended, passed: 20 - ayes; 0 - nays; 1 - absent. Ayes - Smith, Berry, L. Miller, Abdul-Samad, Alons, Forristall, Heaton, Heddens, Hunter, Koester, Mascher, T. Olson, Petersen, Schulte, Soderberg, Steckman, Thede, Upmeyer, Wendt, Wessel-Kroeschell; Absent - Baudler. Having received a constitutional majority, the bill moves onto the floor of the house as a Committee Bill.

Chair Smith recognized Rep. T. Olson for opening remarks on HSB 514. Chair Smith recognized Rep. T. Olson for opening remarks on Amendment 535. Discussion followed. Amendment 570 was adopted to HSB 514 by unanimous consent by voice vote. Discussion followed. Roll vote was taken and HF 514 as amended passed: 20- ayes; 0 - nays; 1 - absent. Ayes - Smith, Berry, L. Miller, Abdul-Samad, Alons, Forristall, Heaton, Heddens, Hunter, Koester, Mascher, T. Olson, Petersen, Schulte, Soderberg, Steckman, Thede, Upmeyer, Wendt, Wessel-Kroeschell; Absent- Baudler. Having received a constitutional majority, the bill moves onto the floor of the house as a Committee Bill.

Chair Smith recognized Rep. Wessel-Kroeschell for opening remarks on HF 2158. Discussion followed. Chair Smith recognized Rep. Wessel-Kroeschell for closing remarks. Roll vote was taken and HF 2158 passed: 13- ayes; 7- nays; 1 absent. Ayes - Smith, Berry, Abdul-Samad, Heddens, Hunter, Mascher, T. Olson, Petersen, Schulte, Steckman, Thede, Wendt, Wessel-Kroeschell; Nays - L. Miller, Alons, Forristall, Heaton, Koester, Soderberg, Upmeyer; Absent-Baudler. Having received a constitutional majority, the bill moves onto the floor of the house as an individually sponsored Bill.

Vice Chair Berry recognized Chair Smith for opening remarks on HF 2065. Vice Chair Berry recognized Chair Smith for opening remarks on Amendment 496. Amendment 496 was adopted to HF 2065 by unanimous consent by voice vote. Roll vote was taken and HF 2065 as amended was passed: 20 - ayes; 0- nays; 1 absent. Ayes - Smith, Berry, L. Miller, Abdul-Samad, Alons, Forristall, Heaton, Heddens, Hunter, Koester, Mascher, T. Olson, Petersen, Schulte, Soderberg, Steckman, Thede, Upmeyer, Wendt, Wessel-Kroeschell; Absent-Baudler. Having received a constitutional majority, the bill moves onto the floor of the house as a Committee Bill.

Representative Alons moved to arise.

The meeting adjourned at 5:46 p.m.

Representative Mark D. Smith

Karen Lischer, Committee Secretary