COMMITTEE MINUTES for APPROPRIATIONS

Date:	February 03, 2010		Place:	Rm 103, Supreme Court Chamber		
Convened:	2/3/2010 11:05 AM	Recessed:	Reconve	ened:	Adjourned:	2/3/2010 12:15 PM

- **Present:** Representatives Oldson-CH, Wenthe-VC, Raecker-RM, Alons, Bailey, Cohoon, Cownie, De Boef, Dolecheck, Gayman, Heaton, Heddens, Hunter, Huseman, Jacoby, Kressig, Lukan, Reichert, Roberts, Swaim, Taylor, T., Watts, Winckler, Worthan, Zirkelbach
- Absent: None

Excused: None

Chairperson Oldson called the meeting to order at 11:05 am. Roll was called. A quorum was present. Members who were not present at the time were excused until their arrival.

Chairperson Oldson welcomed the members to the first meeting of this legislative session and introduced Rep. Kressig who was recently appointed to the committee. Rep. Raecker also gave welcoming remarks.

Chairperson Oldson announced the following subcommittee assignments:

SF 173 Winckler (chr), Dolecheck, Wenthe HF 669 Reichert (chr), De Boef, Kressig HF 2039 Cohoon (chr), Huseman, Jacoby HF 2063 Heddens (chr), Gayman, Heaton HSB 684 Heddens (chr), Heaton, Oldson

Chairperson Oldson introduced Holly Lyons, Director, Fiscal Division of the Legislative Service Agency for a presentation on Governor Culver's FY 2011 Budget Recommendations. Ms. Lyons distributed an analysis of the Recommendations to the committee members and a copy is included in the committee book.

Ms. Lyons asked that the following fiscal analysts be allowed to present on specific areas of the analysis:

Shawn Snyder on the School Aid Formula
Jess Benson on Medicaid
Holly Lyons on Government Reorganization
Jeff Robinson on Iowa Job Losses Around Significant
 Recessions
Marcia Tannian on the Governor's Bonding Proposals.

The following Representatives were recognized for questions of the various Fiscal Division staff members: Zirkelbach, Bailey, Swaim, Heaton, Raecker, Watts, and Reichert.

Unanimous consent was given to allow Steve Larson, Deputy State Treasurer to respond to questions.

Chairperson Oldson thanked Ms. Lyons and the Fiscal Division staff for their presentation.

Chairperson Oldson reminded the members of the committee that they were on call for a meeting later this week.

Rep. Cohoon moved that the committee adjourn at 12:15 pm.

Cathy Jury, Committee Secretary