COMMITTEE MINUTES for HUMAN RESOURCES

Date: January 27, 2010 Place: Rm 103, Supreme Court Chamber

Convened: 1/27/2010 **Recessed:** 1/27/2010 **Reconvened:** 1/27/2010 **Adjourned:** 1/27/2010

> 2:35 PM 3:30 PM 4:25 PM 4:30 PM

Present: Representatives Smith-CH, Berry-VC, Miller, L.-RM, Abdul-Samad, Alons, Baudler,

Forristall, Heaton, Heddens, Hunter, Koester, Mascher, Olson, T., Petersen, Schulte,

Soderberg, Steckman, Thede, Upmeyer, Wendt, Wessel-Kroeschell

Absent: None

Excused: None

Chair Smith called the meeting to order at 2:36 p.m.

Roll was called and a quorum was present.

The minutes of the 1/25/2010 meeting were approved.

Chair Smith made the following bill assignments:

HF 2129 - T. Olson, Ch; L. Miller, Smith

HF 2133 - Mascher, Ch; Hunter, L. Miller

HF 2034 - Mascher, Ch; Hunter, Soderberg HSB 621 - Wendt, Ch; Steckman, Alons HSB 626 - Thede, Ch; Baudler, Hunter

HSB 627 - Abdul-Samad, Ch; Heaton, Steckman

SF 117 - Smith, Ch; Baudler, Olson

Chair Smith noted that HF 178 would not be discussed.

Both parties were to caucus at 2:38 p.m. The committee reconvened at 3:12 p.m.

Chair Smith recognized Rep. Berry for opening remarks on HSB 507. Discussion followed. Chair Smith recognized Rep. Berry to Amendment 107. Motion passed unanimously by voice vote. Chair Smith recognized Rep. Berry for Amendment 301. Motion passed unanimously by voice vote. Both amendments are adopted to HSB 507. Roll vote was taken and HSB 507 passed: 2 - nays; 19 - ayes. Aye -Smith, Berry, L. Miller, Abdul-Samad, Alons, Baudler, Forristall, Heaton, Heddens, Koester, Mascher, T. Olson, Petersen, Schulte, Soderberg, Steckman, Upmeyer, Wendt, Wessel-Kroeschell; Nay - Hunter, Thede. This bill will go to the House as a Committee Bill with Rep. Berry as floor manager.

Chair Smith recognized Rep. Wessel-Kroeschell for opening remarks on HSB 516. Discussion followed. Roll vote was taken and HSB 516 passed: 9 - nay; 12 ayes. Aye - Smith, Berry, Abdul-Samad, Heddens, Hunter, Mascher, T. Olson, Petersen, Steckman, Thede, Wendt, Wessel-Kroeschell; Nay - Miller, Alons, Baudler, Forristall, Heaton, Koester, Schulte, Soderberg, Upmeyer. This bill will go to the House as a Committee Bill with Rep. Wessel-Kroeschell as floor manager.

Committee was recessed at 3:32. Committee reconvened at 4:26 p.m.

Representative Thede moved to arise.

The meeting adjourned at 4:27 p.m.

Karen Lischer, Committee Secretary