COMMITTEE MINUTES for APPROPRIATIONS

Date: April 16, 2009 **Place:** Rm 103, Supreme Court Chamber

Convened: 4/16/2009 Recessed: Reconvened: Adjourned: 4/16/2009

4:55 PM 6:35 PM

Present: Representatives Oldson-CH, Wenthe-VC, Raecker-RM, Alons, Bailey, Cohoon, Cownie, De

Boef, Dolecheck, Gayman, Heaton, Heddens, Hunter, Huseman, Jacoby, Kuhn, Lukan,

Reichert, Roberts, Swaim, Taylor, T., Watts, Winckler, Worthan, Zirkelbach

Absent: None

Excused: None

Chairperson Oldson called the meeting to order at $4:55~\mathrm{pm}$. Roll was called; a quorum was present. Members who were not present at the time were excused until their arrival.

Chairperson Oldson announced the order of business as follows: SF 484, SF 474, SF 376 and HSB 292.

The committee was recessed at 5:00 pm for caucuses by parties.

Chairperson Oldson recognized Rep. Jacoby for SF 484. Rep. Jacoby explained the legislation. Chairperson Oldson recognized Rep. Raecker for questions and comments. Rep. Jacoby asked for and received unanimous consent for Beverly Zylstra of the Department of Inspection and Appeals to respond to questions. Chairperson Oldson recognized the following representatives for questions and comments: Heaton, Watts and Alons. Chairperson Oldson recognized Rep. Jacoby for closing remarks on SF 484. Rep. Jacoby moved the bill. Roll was called. The result of the vote was 25 ayes and 0 nays. All members voted aye. SF 484 went to the House with a recommendation of do pass.

Chairperson Oldson recognized Rep. Cohoon for SF 474. Rep. Cohoon explained the legislation. Chairperson Oldson recognized Rep. Huseman for questions and comments. Chairperson Oldson recognized Rep. Cohoon for closing remarks on SF 474. Rep. Cohoon moved the bill. Roll was called. The result of the vote was 13 ayes, 11 nays and 1 absent. The following representatives voted aye: Oldson, Wenthe, Cohoon, Gayman, Heddens, Hunter, Jacoby, Kuhn, Reichert, Swaim, Taylor, Winckler, and Zirkelbach. The following representatives voted nay: Raecker, Alons, Cownie, DeBoef, Dolecheck, Heaton, Huseman, Lukan, Roberts, Watts, Worthan. Rep. Bailey was absent. SF 474 went to the House with a recommendation of do pass.

Chairperson Oldson recognized Rep. Cohoon for SF 376. Rep. Cohoon explained the legislation. Chairperson Oldson recognized Rep. Cohoon for amendment 507. Rep. Cohoon explained the amendment and moved its adoption. Short form was requested. The amendment was adopted on a voice vote. Chairperson Oldson recognized Rep. Heaton for questions and comments. Rep. Cohoon asked for and received unanimous consent for Steve Larson of the State Treasurer's Office to respond to questions. Chairperson Oldson recognized the following representatives for questions and comments: Worthan and Raecker. Chairperson Oldson recognized Rep. Cohoon for closing remarks on SF 376. Rep. Cohoon moved the bill. Roll was called. The result of the vote was 13 ayes and 12 nays. The following representatives voted aye: Oldson, Wenthe, Bailey, Cohoon, Gayman, Heddens, Jacoby, Kuhn, Reichert, Swaim, Taylor, Winckler, and Zirkelbach. The following representatives voted nay: Raecker, Alons, Cownie, DeBoef, Dolecheck, Heaton, Hunter, Huseman, Lukan, Roberts, Watts, Worthan. SF 376 went to the House with a recommendation of amend and do pass.

Chairperson Oldson asked for and received unanimous consent to dissolve into the committee of the whole. Chairperson Oldson recognized Rep. Cohoon for HSB 292. Rep. Cohoon explained the legislation. Chairperson Oldson recognized the following representatives for questions and comments: Raecker, Cownie and Watts. Chairperson Oldson recognized Rep. Cohoon for closing remarks on HSB

292. Rep. Cohoon moved the bill. Short form was requested. The bill was sent to the full committee. Chairperson Oldson asked for and received unanimous consent to return to the committee. Chairperson Oldson asked for further discussion; there was none. Chairperson Oldson recognized Rep. Cohoon for closing comments on HSB 292. Rep. Cohoon moved the bill. Roll was called. The result of the vote was 13 ayes, 12 nays. The following representatives voted aye: Oldson, Wenthe, Bailey, Cohoon, Gayman, Heddens, Jacoby, Kuhn, Reichert, Swaim, Taylor, Winckler, and Zirkelbach. The following representatives voted nay: Raecker, Alons, Cownie, DeBoef, Dolecheck, Heaton, Hunter, Huseman, Lukan, Roberts, Watts, Worthan. SF 474 went to the House with a recommendation of do pass.

Rep. Cownie moved that the committee adjourn at 6:35 pm.

Representative Jo Oldson	
Cathy Jury, Committee Secretary	