## **COMMITTEE MINUTES for** APPROPRIATIONS

Date:	April 14, 2009		Place:	Rm 103, Supreme Court Chamber		
Convened:	4/14/2009 1:05 PM	Recessed:	Reconve	ened:	Adjourned:	4/14/2009 2:30 PM

- **Present:** Representatives Oldson-CH, Wenthe-VC, Alons, Bailey, Cohoon, Cownie, De Boef, Dolecheck, Gayman, Heaton, Heddens, Hunter, Huseman, Jacoby, Kuhn, Lukan, Reichert, Roberts, Swaim, Taylor, T., Watts, Winckler, Worthan, Zirkelbach
- Absent: None
- Representative Raecker-RM **Excused:**

Chairperson Oldson called the meeting to order at 1:05 pm. Roll was called; a quorum was present. Members who were not present at the time were excused until their arrival. Minutes from the previous meeting were approved.

Chairperson Oldson announced the assignment of the following subcommittee:

SF 475 Reichert, chr; Jacoby and Watts.

The committee recessed at 1:05 pm for caucuses by both parties. The committee reconvened at 1:40 pm.

Chairperson Oldson recognized Rep. Taylor for SF 475, the justice budget. Rep. Taylor explained the legislation. Chairperson Oldson recognized Rep. Taylor for amendment 701. Rep. Taylor explained the amendment and moved its adoption. Short form was requested. Amendment 701 was adopted on a voice vote.

Chairperson Oldson announced that the committee was on SF 475 as amended. Chairperson Oldson requested that Rep. Raecker be excused for the remainder of the meeting (at 2:10 pm). Chairperson Oldson recognized the following representatives for questions and comments: Alons, Heaton and Worthan.

Chairperson Oldson recognized Rep. Taylor for final remarks on SF 475. Rep. Taylor moved that SF 475 be sent to the House with a recommendation of amend and do pass. Roll was called. The results of the vote were 14 ayes, 10 nays and 1 absent. The following representatives voted aye: Oldson, Wenthe, Bailey, Cohoon, Gayman, Heddens, Hunter, Jacoby, Kuhn, Reichert, Swaim, T. Taylor, Winckler, and Zirkelbach. The following representatives voted nay: Alons, Cownie, De Boef, Dolecheck, Heaton, Huseman, Lukan, Roberts, and Worthan. Rep. Raecker was excused.

Representative Jo Oldson

Cathy Jury, Committee Secretary