COMMITTEE MINUTES for APPROPRIATIONS

Date:	April 08, 2009	Place:	Rm 103, Supreme Court Chamb	ber
Convened:	4/8/2009 8:30 Recessed: AM	4/8/2009 9:00 Reconve AM	ened: 4/8/2009 9:15 Adjourned: AM	4/8/2009 11:20 AM
Present:	Representatives Oldson-CH, Wenthe-VC, Raecker-RM, Alons, Bailey, Cohoon, Cownie, De Boef, Dolecheck, Gayman, Heaton, Heddens, Hunter, Huseman, Jacoby, Kuhn, Lukan, Reichert, Roberts, Swaim, Taylor, T., Winckler, Worthan, Zirkelbach			
Absent:	None			

Excused: Representative Watts

Chairperson Oldson called the meeting to order at 8:30 am. Roll was called; a quorum was present. Members who were not present at the time were excused until their arrival. Rep. Watts was excused for the meeting. Chairperson Oldson noted 2 corrections in the minutes and the minutes were approved with those corrections.

Chairperson Oldson announced the appointment of the following subcommittee:

HF 780 Reichert, chr; Jacoby and Worthan.

The committee was recessed for caucuses of both parties at 8:35 am. The committee was called to order at 9 am. The committee recessed while the House conducted business. The committee was called to order at 9:15 am. The committee was recessed for caucuses of both parties. The committee was called to order at 9:40 am.

Chairperson Oldson recognized Rep. Heddens for opening remarks on HSB 287. Rep. Heddens explained the legislation. Chairperson Oldson recognized the following representatives for questions and comments: De Boef, Cownie, Alons, and Dolecheck. The committee recessed at 10:15 am for a tornado drill. The committee reconvened at 10:35 am.

Chairperson Oldson noted that at the time of recess the committee was discussing HSB 287. Chairperson Oldson recognized the following representatives for questions and comments: Dolecheck, Huseman, Raecker and Heaton.

Chairperson Oldson recognized Rep. Heddens for closing remarks on HSB 287. Rep. Heddens moved that HSB 287 be sent to the House for further consideration. Roll was called. The results of the vote were 14 ayes and 10 nays. The following representatives voted aye: Oldson, Wenthe, Bailey, Cohoon, Gayman, Heddens, Hunter, Jacoby, Kuhn, Reichert, Swaim, T. Taylor, Winckler, and Zirkelbach. The following representatives voted nay: Raecker, Alons, Cownie, De Boef, Dolecheck, Heaton, Huseman, Lukan, Roberts, and Worthan. HSB 287 was sent to the House calendar as a committee bill.

Rep. Kuhn moved the committee adjourn at 11:20 am.

Representative Jo Oldson

Cathy Jury, Committee Secretary