## COMMITTEE MINUTES for APPROPRIATIONS

**Date:** April 01, 2009 **Place:** Rm 103, Supreme Court Chamber

**Convened:** 4/1/2009 3:35 **Recessed: Reconvened: Adjourned:** 4/1/2009 5:10

PM PN

Present: Representatives Oldson-CH, Wenthe-VC, Raecker-RM, Alons, Bailey, Cohoon, Cownie, De

Boef, Dolecheck, Gayman, Heaton, Heddens, Hunter, Huseman, Jacoby, Kuhn, Lukan,

Reichert, Roberts, Swaim, Taylor, T., Watts, Winckler, Worthan, Zirkelbach

**Absent:** None

**Excused:** None

Chairperson Oldson convened the committee at 3:35 p.m. Roll was called. A quorum was present. Members who were not present at the time were excused until their arrival.

Minutes from the previous meeting were approved.

Chairperson Oldson announced the following committee assignments:

HF 656 reassigned to Wenthe, chair; Jacoby and Cownie

HF 730 Reichert, chair; Hunter and Worthan

HF 754 Winckler, chair, Cohoon, Dolecheck, Heaton and Wenthe

SF 452 Reichert, chair, Jacoby and Watts

Chairperson Oldson announced the order of business for the day: HF 313 and HSB 285.

The committee was at ease at  $3:40~\rm p.m.$  for caucuses by both parties. The committee was called to order at  $4:05~\rm p.m.$ 

Chairperson Oldson recognized Rep. Wenthe for opening remarks on  ${\tt HF}$  313. Rep. Wenthe explained the legislation.

Chairperson Oldson recognized the following representatives for questions and comments: Cownie, Raecker and Dolecheck.

Chairperson Oldson recognized Rep. Wenthe for closing remarks on HF 313. Rep. Wenthe moved that HF 313 be sent to the House for further consideration. Roll was called. The result of the vote was 14 ayes and 11 nays. The following representatives voted aye: Oldson, Wenthe, Bailey, Cohoon, Gayman, Heddens, Hunter, Jacoby, Kuhn, Reichert, Swaim, T. Taylor, Winckler, and Zirkelbach. The following representatives voted nay: Raecker, Alons, Cownie, De Boef, Dolecheck, Heaton, Huseman, Lukan, Roberts, Watts, and Worthan. HF 313 moved to the House calendar.

Chairperson Oldson recognized Rep. Hunter for opening remarks on HSB 285. Rep. Hunter explained the proposed legislation. Chairperson Oldson announced the following order of amendments: 501, 201, 202.

Chairperson Oldson recognized Rep. Hunter for amendment 501. Rep. Hunter explained the amendment. Chairperson Oldson recognized the following representatives for questions and comments: Alons and Raecker. Rep. Raecker asked for and received unanimous consent for the following persons to respond to questions: Mark Johnson of the Department of Administrative Services, Dave Reynolds of the Legislative Services Agency and Charles Smithson of the Ethics and Campaign Finance Commission. Chairperson Oldson recognized Rep. Hunter for closing remarks on amendment 501. Rep. Hunter moved the adoption of the amendment. The amendment was adopted on a voice vote.

Chairperson Oldson recognized Rep. Alons for amendment 201. Rep. Alons explained the amendment. Rep Alons withdrew the amendment from further consideration.

Chairperson Oldson recognized Rep. Hunter for amendment 202. Rep. Hunter explained the amendment. Chairperson Oldson recognized Rep. Alons for questions and comments. Chairperson Oldson recognized Rep. Hunter for closing remarks on amendment 202. Rep. Hunter moved the adoption of the amendment. Rep. Alons requested a record roll call. The result of the vote was 25 ayes and 0 nays. All representatives voted aye. The amendment was adopted.

Chairperson Oldson stated the committee was on HSB 285 as amended. Chairperson Oldson recognized the following representatives for questions and comments: Heaton, Alons and Raecker. Chairperson Oldson recognized Rep. Hunter for closing remarks on HSB 285. Rep. Hunter moved that HSB 285 be sent to the House for further consideration. Roll was called. The result of the vote was 14 ayes and 11 nays. The following representatives voted aye: Oldson, Wenthe, Bailey, Cohoon, Gayman, Heddens, Hunter, Jacoby, Kuhn, Reichert, Swaim, T. Taylor, Winckler, and Zirkelbach. The following representatives voted nay: Raecker, Alons, Cownie, De Boef, Dolecheck, Heaton, Huseman, Lukan, Roberts, Watts, and Worthan. HSB 285, as amended, moved to the House calendar as an appropriations committee bill.

moved to the House calendar as an appropriations committee bill.

Rep. Winckler moved that the committee adjourn at 5:10 p.m.

Representative Jo Oldson

Cathy Jury, Committee Secretary