## COMMITTEE MINUTES for HUMAN RESOURCES

**Date:** March 23, 2009 **Place:** Room 22

**Convened:** 3/23/2009 **Recessed:** 3/23/2009 **Reconvened:** 3/23/2009 **Adjourned:** 3/23/2009

5:15 PM 5:30 PM 5:55 PM 6:05 PM

**Present:** Senators Ragan-CH, Schmitz-VC, Hartsuch-RM, Bartz, Boettger, Bolkcom, Dotzler, Hatch,

Johnson, Kreiman, Quirmbach, Seymour, Wilhelm

**Absent:** None

Excused: None

Committee Chair Ragan called the meeting to order at 5:14 p.m.

Senator Seymour made a motion to approve the previous meeting's minutes. The motion passed unanimously by a short form vote.

Committee Chair Ragan recognized Senator Kreiman for gubernatorial appointment Cheryll Jones to the Prevention of Disabilities Policy Council. Senator Kreiman recommended confirmation of the appointee.

Committee Chair Ragan recognized Senator Wilhelm for gubernatorial appointments Brent Welsch and Janice Heikes to the Board of Sign Language Interpreters and Transliterators and MH/MR/DD and Brain Injury Commission, respectively. Senator Wilhelm recommended confirmation of the appointees.

Committee Chair Ragan recognized Senator Bartz for gubernatorial appointments David VanNingen and Cindy Kaestner to the Child Welfare Advisory Committee and MH/MR/DD and Brain Injury Commission, respectively. Senator Bartz recommended confirmation of the appointees.

Committee Chair Ragan recognized Senator Johnson for gubernatorial appointments Mike Isaacson and Katherine Kaminsky to the Child Advocacy Board, Cynthia Beauman to the Health Facilities Council, and Frank Leu Commission of Elder Affairs. Senator Johnson recommended confirmation of the appointees.

Committee Chair Ragan recognized Senator Bolkcom for gubernatorial appointments Christopher Atchison to the Prevention of Disabilities Policy Council, Miriam Landsman to the Child Welfare Advisory Committee, and Susan Salter to the HAWK-I Board. Senator Bolkcom recommended confirmation of the appointees.

Committee Chair Ragan recognized Senator Seymour for gubernatorial appointments Barbara O'Rourke and Lonnie Marshall to the Board of Behavioral Science, and Joseph DeHart to the Child Advocacy Board. Senator Seymour recommended confirmation of the appointees.

Committee Chair Ragan recognized Senator Boettger for gubernatorial appointments Kenneth Petersen and Daniel Ernst to the Commission of Elder Affairs and Dianna Schroeder to the Prevention of Disabilities Policy Council. Senator Boettger recommended confirmation of the appointees.

Committee Chair Ragan recognized Senator Qurimbach for gubernatorial appointment Selden Spencer to the HAWK-I Board. Senator Quirmbach recommended confirmation of the appointee.

Committee Chair Ragan recognized Senator Dotzler for gubernatorial appointments George Estle and Neil Broderick to the Child Welfare Advisory Committee. Senator Dotzler recommended confirmation of the appointee.

Committee Chair Ragan recognized Senator Schmitz for gubernatorial appointment Linda Langston to the MH/MR/DD and Brain Injury Commission. Senator Schmitz recommended confirmation of the appointee.

Senator Ragan turned the committee over to Senator Schmitz at this time.

Committee Chair Schmitz recognized Senator Ragan for gubernatorial appointment Jean McAleer to the Child Welfare Advisory Committee. Senator Ragan recommended confirmation of the appointee.

Committee Chair Schmitz turned the committee back over to Senator Ragan.

Senator Kreiman moved all aforementioned appointees short form; passed unanimously. The appointees move to the En Bloc calendar for confirmation.

Committee Chair Ragan recognized Senator Quirmbach for gubernatorial appointment Bobby Russell to the Commission on Tobacco Use Prevention and Control. Senator Quirmbach recommended confirmation of the appointee. Senator Quirmbach motioned the appointee be confirmed by a short form vote; passed unanimously. The appointee moves to the En Bloc calendar for confirmation.

Committee Chair Ragan announced at 5:29 p.m. that both parties will recess for caucus.

The committee reconvened at 5:55 p.m.

Committee Chair Ragan recognized Senator Bolkcom for introduction of HF 45. Senator Bolkcom introduced the bill, distributed an amendment, and recommended the passage of both. Following discussion on the amendment, Senator Bolkcom requested a short form vote; passed unanimously. Hearing no discussion, Senator Bolkcom requested a short form vote on the bill; passed unanimously. The amendment and bill move to the calendar for debate.

Committee Chair Ragan recognized Senator Wilhelm for introduction of HF 380. Senator Wilhelm introduced the bill and recommended its passage. Following discussion, Senator Wilhelm requested a short form vote on the bill; passed unanimously. The bill moves to the calendar.

Committee Chair Ragan recognized Senator Kreiman for introduction of HF 381. Senator Kreiman introduced the bill and recommended its passage. Following discussion, Senator Kreiman requested a short form vote on the bill; passed unanimously. The bill moves to the calendar.

Senator Hatch moved to arise at 6:02 p.m.

Senator A	Amanda l	Ragan			
Amanda	Kimber,	Commi	ttee Sec	retary	