COMMITTEE MINUTES for JUDICIARY

Date: March 24, 2009 **Place:** Rm 102, Supreme Court Consult Rm

Convened: 3/24/2009 Recessed: Reconvened: Adjourned: 3/24/2009

2:10 PM

3:10 PM

Present: Representatives Swaim-CH, Palmer-VC, Anderson-RM, Baudler, Ford, Heaton, Helland,

Horbach, Huser, Kaufmann, Lensing, Mertz, Oldson, Olson, R., Olson, T., Schulte, Schultz,

Smith, Wessel-Kroeschell, Willems

Absent: None

Excused: Representative Struyk

The House Judiciary Committee was called to order at 2:10 P.M. in Room 102 by Chairperson Swaim.

Roll was taken, Chairperson Swaim declared a quorum was present and the minutes from the previous meeting were approved as previously distributed.

Chairperson Swaim distributed and assigned the following bills:

HSB 276- Olson, T.-Ch, Willems, Helland

SF 431- Olson, R.-Ch, Baudler, Palmer

SF 438- Smith-Ch, Schultz, Willems

SF 425- Wessel-Kroeschell-Ch, Mertz, Schultz

SF 358- Olson, T.-Ch, Willems, Helland

Next, Democrats and Republicans went to caucus.

Upon reconvening, Chairperson Swaim recognized Representative Willems for opening comments on SF 150. Following opening comments and committee discussion, Chairperson Swaim recognized Representative Willems for final comments on SF 150. Representative Willems then moved passage of SF 150. SF 150 passed the Judiciary Committee 20-0 with 1 absent. Chairperson Swaim announced that SF 150 having received sufficient votes for passage, would pass to the Floor of the House as a Senate File.

Next, Chairperson Swaim temporarily assigned Vice-Chair Palmer as Chairperson.

Chairperson Palmer recognized Representative Swaim for opening comments on SJR 5. Following opening comments and committee discussion, Chairperson Palmer recognized Representative Swaim for final remarks on SJR 5. Representative Swaim then moved passage of SJR 5. SJR 5 passed the Judiciary Committee 11-9 w/ 1 absent. Those voting aye were: Representative Swaim, Representative Palmer, Representative Anderson, Representative Horbach, Representative Lensing, Representative Mertz, Representative Oldson, Representative T. Olson, Representative Schulte, Representative Smith, Representative Wessel-Kroeschell. Those voting nay were: Representative Baudler, Representative Ford, Representative Heaton, Representative Helland, Representative Huser, Representative Kaufmann, Representative R.Olson, Representative Schultz, Representative Willems. Chairperson Palmer announced that SJR 5, having received sufficient votes for passage, would pass to the Floor of the House as a Senate Joint Resolution.

Next, Chairperson Palmer returned Chair duties back to Representative Swaim.

Representative Swaim then recognized Representative Palmer for opening remarks on SF 285. After opening comments and committee discussion, by unanimous consent, consideration of SF 285 was deferred.

There being no further business to come before the committee, Representative Mertz moved to arise.

The committee adjourned at 3:10 P.M.