## COMMITTEE MINUTES for STATE GOVERNMENT

Date:	March 23, 2009		Place:	Room 22			
Convened:	3/23/2009 3:25 PM	Recessed:	Reconve	ened:	Adjourned:	3/23/2009 3:45 PM	
Present:	Senators Appel-CH, Feenstra-RM, Behn, Black, Courtney, Danielson, Dearden, Hartsuch, Horn, Jochum, Seymour, Sodders, Wieck						
Absent:	None						
Excused:	Senators Kibb	ie-VC, Hatch					
The committee of State Government convened at 3:25pm. Roll was taken as members arrived. Minutes were approved.							
Gubenatorial nominations were presented and read.							
Approved for individual confirmation was Preston Daniels, Director of the Department of Human Rights.							
Department of Human Rights. Approved for en block approval were: Robert Brecke-Boller and Pressure Vessel Board Amy Iles-Boiler and Pressure Vessel Board John Calisesi-Board of Chiropratic Michael Powell-Board of Chiropratic Marc Lindeen-Commission on Community Action Agencies Arthur (Ross) Wilburn-Commission on the Deaf Theresa Legg-Commission on the Deaf Marijo Beasler-Board of Dentistry Gary Roth-Board of Diettics Jonathan Taylor-Board of Dietetics Jonathan Taylor-Board of Dietetics Jonathan Taylor-Board of Dietetics Jonathan Taylor-Board of Dietetics Jonathan Taylor-Board of Dietetics Mayne Sime-Elevator Safety Board Junifer McConkey-Elevator Safety Board Julie Bell-Iowa Emergency Response Commission Terry Butler-Iowa Emergency Response Commission Terry Butler-Iowa Etnics and Campaign Disclosure Board Marlee Walton-Engineering and Land Surveying Examining Board James Albert-Iowa Etnics and Campaign Disclosure Board Saima Zafar-Iowa Ethics and Campaign Disclosure Board Saima Zafar-Iowa Ethics and Campaign Disclosure Board Saima Zafar-Iowa Ethics and Commission Rachel Judisch-Generation Iowa Commission Claudia Ramirez-Generation Iowa Commission Claudia Ramirez-							

Bradley Hawn-Board of Mortuary Science Paul Johnson-Board of Mortuary Science Connie Boyd-Board of Nursing Patrice Herrera-Board of Nursing Home Administrators Daniel Larmore-Board of Nursing Home Administrators Joan Skogstrom-Board of Nursing Home Administrators Michael Svejda-Board of Nursing Home Administrators Michael Ohlson-Board of Optometry Barbara Washburn-Board of Optometry Mark Anliker-Board of Pharmacy Susan Frey-Board of Pharmacy Helen McNurlen-Board of Physical and Occupational Therapy John Olson-Board of Physician Assistants Mara Swanson-Board of Physician Assistants Patricia Weishaar-Board of Physician Assistants Kelly Kadel-Board of Podiatry Bridget Maher-Board of Podiatry John Dilley-Board of Psychology Ronelle Langley-Board of Psychology Andrea Rivera-Harrison-State Racing and Gaming Commission Toni Urban-State Racing and Gaming Commission Maxine Ballard-Real Estate Appraiser Examining Board John Larson-Real Estate Appraiser Examining Board Judith Zwanziger-Real Estate Appraiser Examining Board Laurie Dawley-Real Estate Commission Richard Robert-Real Estate Commission Arlene Lee-Board of Respiratory Care Robert Zeman-Board of Respiratory Care David Stout-Board of Social Work Mary Tasler-Board of Social Work Jon Schuttinga-Board of Speech Pathology and Audiology Rebecca Vilda-Board of Speech Pathology and Audiology Rick Cooper-Iowa Board of Veterinary Medicine Anne Duffy-Iowa Board of Veterinary Medicine Regenia Bailey-Vision Iowa Board Ernest Greiner-Vision Iowa Board Cathy Reece-Vision Iowa Board Charese Yanney-Vision Iowa Board

All nominations were passed on short form and referred to the floor of the Senate.

The meeting arose at 3:45PM.

Senator Staci Appel

Joanne Walton, Committee Secretary