## COMMITTEE MINUTES for AGRICULTURE

Date: March 04, 2009 Place: Rm 102, Supreme Court Consult Rm Convened: 3/4/2009 2:15 **Recessed: Reconvened: Adjourned:** 3/4/2009 3:05 PM **Present:** Representatives Mertz-CH, Marek-VC, Drake-RM, Bailey, Beard, Bell, Bukta, De Boef, Dolecheck, Frevert, Gayman, Huseman, Miller, H., Olson, S., Rayhons, Reasoner, Sweeney, Wenthe, Worthan Absent: None **Excused:** Representatives Struyk, Zirkelbach CORRECTED REVISION Chair Mertz called the meeting to order. Roll call was taken and a quorum was As there were no corrections, amendments, and/or deletions to the February 25th meeting minutes, Chair Mertz approved the minutes as distributed. The following bills were assigned to subcommittee: HF 445 - Chair, Reasoner; Wenthe and Worthan HF 472 - Chair, Marek; DeBoef and Gayman HF 486 - Chair, Gayman; Marek and Rayhons HF 558 - Chair, Wenthe; Huseman, and Miller Chair Mertz recognized Fred Oelschlaeger, Co-Chair of Agribusiness Associates of Iowa Grain Committee, for a presentation on Dr. Darrell Good's report that was commissioned by AAI on the Grain Indemnity Fund. Oelschlaeger discussed background of the fund and the conclusion that has been reached for the period December 03 through June 08. Discussion followed. HF 327 - Chair Mertz recognized Representative Bailey for opening remarks on HSB 327, A bill relating to an act providing for the stockpiling of dry manure originating from confinement feeding operations, making penalties applicable, and providing an effective date. Discussion followed. Representative Bailey then followed with closing remarks. Roll call was taken and HF 327 will now move to the floor as a committee bill, Ayes 14, Nays 3, and Absent 4. VOTE: Aye - Mertz, Marek, Drake, Bailey, Beard, DeBoef, Dolecheck, Gayman, Huseman, Olson, Reasoner, Sweeney, Wenthe, Worthan. Nay - Bukta, Frevert, Miller. Absent - Bell (Left before vote), Rayhons (Left before vote), Struyk, and Zirkelbach. Announcement: Chair Mertz reminded the Committee of the 2009 Iowa Water Conference, that is being held March 9-10 at the Iowa State Center in Ames. As there was no additional business to come before the Committee, Representative Sweeney moved to arise. Representative Dolores M. Mertz

Donna Downey, Committee Secretary