COMMITTEE MINUTES for VETERANS AFFAIRS

Date: February 17, 2009 Place: Room 19

Convened: 2/17/2009 Recessed: **Reconvened: Adjourned:** 2/17/2009

> 3:05 PM 3:45 PM

Present: Representatives Zirkelbach-CH, Whitead-VC, Windschitl-RM, Alons, Bailey, Bukta, Ficken,

Gayman, Kearns, Mascher, Rants, Sweeney, Taylor, D., Thomas, Tymeson, Van

Engelenhoven, Watts

Absent: None

Excused: None

Chair Zirkelbach called the meeting to order. A roll call was taken and a quorum was present.

The minutes of the previous meeting were approved as distributed.

Chair Zirkelbach introduced the following bills:

HF 245 - Zirkelbach-CH, Van Engelenhoven, Whitead

HF 235 - Bukta-CH, Sweeney, Taylor, D.

HF 225 - Mascher-CH, Alons, Whitead

HF 252 - Thomas-CH, Ficken, Windschitl

HF 250 - Tymeson-CH, Kearns, Thomas

HF 251 - Gayman-CH, Ficken, Watts HF 237 - Bailey-CH, Gayman, Windschitl

HF 244 - Zirkelbach-CH, Van Engelenhoven, Whitead

HF 218 - Gayman-CH, Kearns, Windschitl

HF 316 - Zirkelbach-CH, Whitead, Windschitl

HF 319 - Zirkelbach-CH, Whitead, Windschitl

HF 326 - Bailey-CH, Kearns, Van Engelenhoven

The Democrats and Republicans went to caucus.

The parties reconvened, and deferred HF 170 until the next week.

Chair Zirkelbach recognized Representative Windschitl for opening remarks on HSB 130, a bill concerning limiting the authority of the general assembly to expend money from the veterans trust fund.

Chair Zirkelbach asked for comments. Representative Rants commented on the bill.

Chair Zirkelbach recognized Representative Windschitl for closing remarks on HSB 130.

Representative Windschitl moved the bill. A roll call vote was taken. The bill received 13 ayes and 4 nays.

Representatives voting aye: Zirkelbach, Windschitl, Alons, Bailey, Bukta, Ficken, Gayman, Kearns, Sweeney, Taylor, Thomas, Tymeson, Van Engelenhoven

Representatives voting nay: Whitead, Mascher, Rants, Watts

HSB 130 passed out of the committee as a whole.

As there was no further business, Representative Ficken moved for the meeting to adjourn.

Amy Hein, Committee Secretary