COMMITTEE MINUTES for LABOR

Date:	February 12, 2009		Place:		Rm 102, Supreme Court Consult Rm		
Convened:	2/12/2009 1:40 PM	Recessed:	2/12/2009 2:00 PM	Reconvo	ened: 2/16/2009 9:30 PM	Adjourned:	2/16/2009 10:40 PM
Present:	Representatives Olson, RCH, Willems-VC, Horbach-RM, Abdul-Samad, Anderson, Burt, Cownie, Grassley, Hunter, Isenhart, Kearns, Mascher, Taylor, T., Tymeson, Van Engelenhoven, Watts, Winckler						
Absent:	None						
Excused:	None						

Representative Rick Olson called the meeting to order.

Roll call was taken.

The minutes from the previous meeting were approved.

The Republicans caucused. The Democrats caucused.

The meeting recessed until Monday, February 16th following the public hearing on HSB 149.

The meeting reconvened at 9:30PM on the 16th of February.

Representative Rick Olson called the meeting back to order.

Representative Rick Olson relinquished the Chair to Representative Willems. The chair recognized Representative Olson for opening comments on HSB 149. Representative Olson gave opening comments on HSB 149 and introduced amendment 319. Representative Olson gave opening comments on amendment 319. The chair opened the floor for discussion on amendment 319.

The Republicans caucused. The Democrats caucused.

The Chair recognized Representative Van Engelenhoven for opening comments on amendment 510. Representative Van Engelenhoven gave opening comments on amendement 510. The chair opened the floor for discussion. Representative Van Engelenhoven gave closing comments on amendment 510 and moved the amendment short form. Amendment 510 failed short form.

The Chair opened the floor for discussion on amendment 319. The Chair recognized Representative Olson for closing comments on amendment 319. Representative Olson moved amendment 319 and asked for a record. Representative T. Taylor seconded the motion. Amendment 319 passed 10-7 with Representatives Olson, Willems, Abdul-Samad, Burt, Hunter, Isenhart, Kearns, Mascher, Taylor, and Winckler voting aye. Representatives Horbach, Anderson, Cownie, Grassley, Tymeson, Van Engelenhoven, and Watts all voted nay.

The Chair recognized Representative Tymeson for opening remarks on amendment 210. Representative Tymeson gave opening remarks. The Chair opened the floor for discussion. The Chair recognized Representative Tymeson for closing comments. Representative Tymeson moved amendment 210 short form. Amendment 210 failed.

The Chair recognized Representative Anderson for opening comments on amendment 501. Representative Anderson gave opening comments on amendment 501. The Chair opened the floor for discussion. The Chair recognized Representative Anderson for closing comments on amendment 501. Representative Anderson moved amendment 501 short form. Amendment 501 failed.

The Chair recognized Representative Cownie for opening comments on amendment

305. Representative Cownie gave opening comments on amendment 305. The Chair opened the floor for discussion. The Chair recognized Representative Cownie for closing comments on amendment 305. Representative Cownie moved amendment 305 short form. Amendment 305 failed.

The Chair recognized Representative Grassley for opening comments on amendment 316. Representative Grassley gave opening comments on amendment 316. The Chair opened the floor for discussion. The Chair recognized Representative Grassley for closing comments on amendment 316. Representative Grassley moved amendment 316 and asked for a record. Amendment 316 failed with Representative Olson, Willems, Abdul-Samad, Burt, Hunter, Isenhart, Kearns, Mascher, T. Taylor, and Winckler voting nay. Representatives Horbach, Anderson, Cownie, Grassley, Tymeson, Van Engelenhoven and Watts all voted aye.

The Chair opened the floor for discussion on HSB 149 as amended. The Chair recognized Representative Olson for closing comments on HSB 149 as amended. Representative Olson moved the bill as amended. Representative Taylor seconded the motion. HSB 149 as amended passed the Labor Committee with a vote of 10-7. Those voting aye were Representatives Olson, Willems, Abdul-Samad, Burt, Hunter, Isenhart, Kearns, Mascher, T. Taylor, and Winckler. Those voting nay were Representatives Horbach, Anderson, Cownie, Grassley, Tymeson, Van Engelenhoven, and Watts. HSB 149 as amended will proceed to the House floor as a committee bill.

Representative Willems relinquished the Chair back to Representative Olson.

There being no further business to come before the committee, Representative Horbach moved to adjourn.

Representative Rick Olson

Brenda Olson, Committee Secretary