COMMITTEE MINUTES for HUMAN RESOURCES

Date: February 11, 2009 **Place:** Rm 103, Supreme Court Chamber

Convened: 2/11/2009 Recessed: Reconvened: Adjourned: 2/11/2009

2:00 PM 3:00 PM

Present: Representatives Smith-CH, Berry-VC, Abdul-Samad, Alons, Baudler, Forristall, Heaton,

Heddens, Hunter, Koester, Mascher, Petersen, Schulte, Soderberg, Steckman, Thede,

Upmeyer, Wendt, Wessel-Kroeschell

Absent: None

Excused: Representatives Miller, L.-RM, Olson, T.

Chair Smith called the Human Resource Committee to order at 2 p.m., in room 103, on February 11, 2009.

Roll Call was taken and quorum was present.

Minutes of the February 9, 2009 committee meeting were approved.

Assignment of bills:

HF 187 Chair Representative Mascher, Representatives

Petersen and Forristall

HF 215 Chair Representative Petersen, Representatives

Wendt and Forristall

HF 220 Chair Representative Hunter, Representatives

Mascher and Miller

HF 231 Chair Representative Mascher, Representatives Hunter and Heaton

2:05 p.m., both parties Caucus.

2:35 p.m., caucus ended.

Chair Smith recognized Representative Mascher for opening comments regarding HSB 8. Representative Mascher was recognized for opening comments on Amendment 501. Representative Mascher moved Amendment 501. Voice vote approved Amendment 501. Chair recognized Representative Mascher for closing comments on HSB 8.501. Representative Mascher made motion to move HSB 8.501. Roll call vote was taken. Ayes 12 Nays 7 Absent or not voting 2. Those voting Aye were: Representatives Smith, Berry, Abdul-Samad, Heaton, Heddens, Hunter, Mascher, Petersen, Steckman, Thede, Wendt, and Wessel-Kroeshcell. Those voting Nay were Representatives Alons, Baulder, Forristall, Koester, Schulte, Soderberg and Upmeyer. Those absent or not voting were Representatives Miller and Olson. HSB 8.501 will move to the floor as a committee bill.

Chair Smith recognized Representative Thede for opening comments on HSB 50. Chair recognized Representative Thede for opening comments on Amendment 701. Representative Thede made motion to move Amendment 701. Voice vote adopted Amendment 701. Representative Thede made motion to move HSB 50.701. Roll call vote was taken. Ayes 19 Nays 0 Absent or not voting 2. Those voting Aye were: Representatives Smith, Berry, Abdul-Samad, Alons, Baudler, Forristall, Heaton, Heddens, Hunter, Koester, Mascher, Petersen, Schulte, Soderberg, Steckman, Thede, Upmeyer, Wendt, and Wessel-Kroeschell. Those absent or not voting: Representatives Miller and Olson. HSB 50.701 will now move to the floor as a committee bill.

Chair Smith recognized Representative Wendt for opening comments on HF 57. Chair recognized Representative Soderberg for opening comments on Amendment 701. Representative Soderberg made motion to adopt Amendment 701. Voice Vote approved Amendment 701. Representative Wendt made motion to move HF 57.701. Roll Call vote taken. Ayes 19, Nays 0, Absent or not voting 0. HF 57.701 will now move to the floor as a committee bill. Those voting Aye were: Representatives Smith, Berry, Abdul-Samad, Alons, Baudler, Forristall, Heaton,

Heddens, Hunter, Koester, Mascher, Petersen, Schulte, Soderberg, Steckman, Thede, Upmeyer, Wendt, and Wessel-Kroeschell. Those absent or not voting: Representatives Miller and Olson. HF 57.701 will now move to the floor as a committee bill.

Chair recognized Representative Heddens for opening comments on HF 45. Representative Heddens made motion to move HF 45. Roll call vote was taken and the Ayes were 18, Nays 0, Absent or not voting 3. Those voting Aye were: Representatives Smith, Berry, Abdul-Samad, Alons, Baudler, Forristall, Heaton, Heddens, Hunter, Koester, Mascher, Petersen, Schulte, Soderberg, Steckman, Thede, Upmeyer, Wendt, and Wessel-Kroeschell. Absent or not voting were: Representatives Miller, Olson, and Wendt. HF 45 will now move to the floor as an Individually Sponsored Bill.

Chair Smith indicated the Committee would defer regarding HSB 51, HSB 111, and HSB 112, until the next committee meeting.

Seeing no new business to come before the committee, Representative Thede made motion to arise.

Representative Mark D. Smith	
Fran D. Smith, Committee Secretary	