COMMITTEE MINUTES for HUMAN RESOURCES

Date: February 04, 2009 Place: Room 22

Convened: 2/4/2009 3:05 **Recessed: Reconvened: Adjourned:** 2/4/2009 4:00

PM PN

Present: Senators Ragan-CH, Schmitz-VC, Hartsuch-RM, Bartz, Boettger, Dotzler, Hatch, Johnson,

Kreiman, Quirmbach, Seymour, Wilhelm

Absent: None

Excused: Senator Bolkcom

Seeing a quorum, Committee Chair Ragan called the meeting to order at 3:05 p.m.

Senator Boettger made a motion to approve the previous meeting's minutes. The motion was seconded by Senator Seymour and passed unanimously by a short form vote.

Committee Chair Ragan acknowledged Senator Johnson for introduction of gubernatorial appointments Danielle Sharpe, Barbara Stineman, and Mary Percival to the Iowa Autism Council. Senator Johnson recommended approval of the appointees. A short form vote was taken and passed unanimously. The appointees move to the En Bloc calendar.

Committee Chair Ragan acknowledged Senator Hartsuch for introduction of gubernatorial appointments George Youi Sayavong to the Commission on the Status of Iowans of Asian and Pacific Islander Heritage, Katherine Byers, and Joshua Cobbs, both to the Iowa Autism Council. Senator Hartsuch recommended approval of the appointees. A short form vote was taken and passed unanimously. The appointees move to the En Bloc calendar.

Committee Chair Ragan acknowledged Senator Wilhelm for introduction of gubernatorial appointment Frank Leu to the Commission of Elder Affairs. Senator Wilhelm recommended approval of the appointee. A short form vote was taken and passed unanimously. The appointee moves to the En Bloc calendar.

Committee Chair Ragan acknowledged Senator Boettger for introduction of gubernatorial appointments John Kohles, Steven Muller, and Pamela Parker to the Iowa Autism Council. Senator Boettger recommended approval of the appointees. A short form vote was taken and passed unanimously. The appointees move to the En Bloc calendar.

Committee Chair Ragan acknowledged Senator Kreiman for introduction of gubernatorial appointment Cheryl Jones to the Prevention of Disabilities Policy Council. Senator Kreiman recommended approval of the appointee. A short form vote was taken and passed unanimously. The appointees move to the En Bloc calendar.

Committee Chair Ragan recognized Kristi Lohmeier and Lily French, of the Iowa Policy Project, for a presentation on the Cost of Living in Iowa. A presentation and discussion followed.

Senator Hartsuch moved to arise at 4:00 p.m.

Senator Amanda Ragan	

Amanda Kimber, Committee Secretary