COMMITTEE MINUTES for ECONOMIC GROWTH

Date: January 22, 2009 Place: Rm 102, Supreme Court Consult Rm Convened: 1/22/2009 Recessed: **Reconvened: Adjourned:** 1/22/2009 2:10 PM 3:00 PM **Present:** Representatives Thomas-CH, Bailey-VC, Forristall-RM, Anderson, Cownie, Ford, Horbach, Jacoby, Kelley, May, Schueller, Schultz, Soderberg, Sorenson, Steckman, Swaim, Thede, Upmeyer, Wenthe Absent: None Representatives Marek, Miller, H. **Excused:** Chairman Thomas called the meeting to order and roll call was taken. The minutes from the previous meeting were approved as printed. Chairman Thomas announced assignment of the following bills: HSB 19: (Job Training Comm.) Ford - Chr., Horbach, Jacoby, Schultz, Thomas A study bill for establishing a lifelong learning accounts program within the educational savings plan trust and providing tax credits for contributions made by employers to lifelong learning accounts and including an applicability date provision. HSB 20: Marek - Chr., Cownie, Wenthe - A study bill for changing the eligibility requirements of web search portal businesses and information technology facilities for certain sales, use, and property tax exemptions and refunds. HSB 21: (Job Training Comm.) Ford - Chr., Horbach, Jacoby, Schultz, Thomas -A study bill for adding four nonvoting members to the Iowa workforce development board. HSB 35: (Job Training Comm.) Ford - Chr., Horbach, Jacoby, Schultz, Thomas A study bill for providing training program extension benefits to unemployment insurance benefits, and including an applicability date. HSB 42: Steckman-Chr., Kelley, Sorenson - An Act relating to the number of historic preservation grants that may be awarded in a county and providing an effective date. Chairman Thomas introduced Mike Tramontina, Director of Iowa Dept. of Economic Development. Mr. Tramontina spoke about information technology jobs and explained the IDED 2009 Legislative proposals. This was followed by a question and answer session. Rep. Cownie moved to adjourn. Meeting adjourned. Representative Roger Thomas Roaemary Thomas, Committee Secretary