COMMITTEE MINUTES for HUMAN RESOURCES

Date:	March 25, 2008		Place:	Room 22		
Convened:	3/25/2008 2:30 PM	Recessed:	Reconv	ened:	Adjourned:	3/25/2008 3:15 PM

- **Present:** Senators Ragan-CH, Schmitz-VC, Seymour-RM, Boettger, Bolkcom, Dotzler, Hartsuch, Hatch, Kreiman, Mulder, Quirmbach, Wood
- Absent: None
- **Excused:** Senator Johnson

Committee Chair Ragan called the meeting to order at 2:34 p.m.

Senator Wood moved approval of previous meeting's minutes by short form. Passed unanimously.

Committee Chair Ragan recognized Senator Quirmbach for introduction of gubernatorial appointments Jacquelyn Fletcher, James Grover, and Tammy Westoff-Gentry to the Commission on the Deaf. Senator Quirmbach recommended approval of the appointees. Seeing no discussion, a short form vote was called. The appointments passed unanimously and move to the En Bloc calendar.

Committee Chair Ragan recognized Senator Hatch for introduction of gubernatorial appointments Amber Crystal Amos, Amy Peiffer, Kathy Beauchamp, Merl McFarlane, and Michelle Hatfield to the Commission on Community Action Agencies. Senator Hatch recommended approval of the appointees. Seeing no discussion, a short form vote was called. The appointments passed unanimously and move to the En Bloc calendar.

Committee Chair Ragan recognized Senator Wood for introduction of gubernatorial appointments Rich Hecht, Julie Fidler Dixon, Patricia Penning, Susan Koch-Seehase, and John Willey to the Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities Commission. Senator Wood recommended approval of the appointees. Seeing no discussion, a short form vote was called. The appointments passed unanimously and move to the En Bloc calendar.

Committee Chair Ragan recognized Senator Kreiman for introduction of gubernatorial appointments Joan Bruhn and Mary Nehus to the Prevention of Disabilities Policy Council. Senator Kreiman recommended approval of the appointees. Seeing no discussion, a short form vote was called. The appointments passed unanimously and move to the En Bloc calendar.

Committee Chair Ragan recognized Senator Boettger for introduction of gubernatorial appointments Frank Osako, Alma Reed, and Kristopher Walters to the Commission on the Status of Iowans of Asian and Pacific Islander Heritage. Senator Boettger recommended approval of the appointees. Seeing no discussion, a short form vote was called. The appointments passed unanimously and move to the En Bloc calendar.

Committee Chair Ragan recognized Senator Mulder for introduction of gubernatorial appointments Marcia Michaels, Lonnie Marshall, Darcie Davis-Gage, and Siew-San Wong to the Board of Behavioral Science. Senator Mulder recommended approval of the appointees. Seeing no discussion, a short form vote was called. The appointment passed unanimously and moves to the En Bloc calendar.

Committee Chair Ragan recognized Senator Seymour for introduction of gubernatorial appointments Phyllis Peters, Chad Leonard, Judy Stafford, Rizwana Amjed, and J. Marc Ward to the Commission on the Status of Women. Senator Seymour recommended approval of the appointees. Seeing no discussion, a short form vote was called. The appointments passed unanimously and move to the En Bloc calendar.

Committee Chair Ragan recognized Senator Schmitz for introduction of

gubernatorial appointment Kimberly Carson to the HAWK-I Board. Senator Schmitz recommended the approval of Ms. Carson to the committee. Seeing no discussion, a short form vote was called. The appointment passed unanimously and moves to the En Bloc calendar.

Vice Chair Schmitz recognized Senator Ragan for introduction of gubernatorial appointments Daniel Gillette and Ronald Moore to the Board of Physicians Assistants and appointments Linda Larkin and Gloria Reber to the Board of Elder Affairs. Senator Ragan recommended the approval of all appointments to the committee. Seeing no discussion, a short form vote was called. The appointments passed unanimously and move to the En Bloc calendar.

Vice Chair Schmitz recognized Senator Ragan for introduction of HF 2328. Senator Ragan recommended passage of the bill. Discussion of the bill followed. A short form vote was called and the bill passed unanimously. The bill now moves to the calendar.

Committee Chair Ragan recognized Senator Bolkcom for introduction of HF 2423. Senator Bolkcom recommended passage of the bill. Discussion of the bill followed.

A short form vote was called and the bill passed unanimously. The bill now moves to the calendar.

Committee Chair Ragan recognized Senator Kreiman for introduction of HF 2310. Senator Kreiman distributed an amendment and recommended passage of the bill. Discussion of the amendment took place, followed by a short form vote. The amendment was adopted unanimously. Discussion of the bill followed. A short form vote was called and the bill passed unanimously. The bill now moves to the calendar.

Committee Chair Ragan recognized Senator Wood for introduction of HF 2372. Senator Wood recommended passage of the bill. Seeing no discussion, a short form vote was called and the bill passed unanimously. The bill now moves to the calendar.

Committee Chair Ragan recognized Senator Bolkcom for introduction of HF 2145. Senator Bolkcom recommended passage of the bill. Discussion of the bill followed. A short form vote was called and the bill passed unanimously. The bill now moves to the calendar.

Senator Wood moved to arise at 3:18 p.m.

Senator Amanda Ragan

Secretary Amanda Kimber, Committee Secretary