COMMITTEE MINUTES for PUBLIC SAFETY

Date: March 04, 2008 Place: Room 19

3/4/2008 4:05 **Recessed:** Convened: **Reconvened: Adjourned:** 3/4/2008 5:45

Present: Representatives Lykam-CH, Berry-VC, Baudler-RM, Alons, Bell, Gayman, Heddens, Hunter,

Kressig, Kuhn, Lukan, Olson, R., Olson, S., Rayhons, Sands, Swaim, Tjepkes, Tomenga,

Whitaker, Worthan, Zirkelbach

Absent: None

Excused: None

Meeting called to order at 4:05 p.m. by Chair Lykam.

Roll call. All present.

Minutes of the 2/28/08 meeting were approved.

Assignment of bills:

HF 2429 Whitaker, chair; Bell, Baudler HF 2458 Hunter, chair; Whitaker, Sands

Caucus by both parties.

Consideration of HF 2092 led by Representative Hunter.

Dissenting comments by Representative Baudler.

Amendment 701 presented by Representative Baudler. Discussion by

Representative Zirkelbach.

Amendment 701 passed unanimously by voice vote.

Amendment 501 presented by Representative Hunter. Amendment 501 passed unanimously by voice vote.

Discussion on bill as amended by Representatives Zirkelbach, Baudler, Worthan, Heddens, and Gayman.

HF 2092 as amended passed by roll call vote with 18 Aye,

3 Nay. Representatives Heddens, Hunter, and R. Olson voted nay. HF 2092 will move to the House Floor as a Committee Bill.

Consideration of HSB 749 led by Representative Tjepkes.

Amendment 501 presented by Representative Tjepkes.

Amendment 501 passed unanimously by voice vote.

Discussion on bill as amended by Representatives R. Olson, Baudler, Bell.

HSB 749 as amended passed by roll call vote with 21 Aye,

0 Nay, and will move to the House floor as a Committee Bill.

Consideration of HSB 659 led by Representative Kuhn.

Amendment 501 presented by Representative Kuhn.

Discussion by Representative Lukan.

Amendment 501 passed unanimously by voice vote.

Discussion on bill as amended by Representative Lukan.

HSB 659 as amended passed by roll call vote with 21 Aye,

0 Nay, and will move to the House Floor as a Committee Bill.

Consideration of HSB 525 led by Representative Zirkelbach.

Discussion by Representatives Gayman, Lukan, Tjepkes, Bell, Hunter, and Michael Savala from the Department of Corrections.

HSB 525 passed by roll call vote with 21 Aye, 0 Nay, and will move to the House Floor as a Committee Bill.

There being no further business, Representative Worthan moved to arise at 5:45 p.m.

Representative Jim Lykam	
Kathy Ellett, Committee Secretary	