COMMITTEE MINUTES for LOCAL GOVERNMENT

Date:	January 28, 20	008	Place:	Room 19		
Convened:	1/28/2008 3:05 PM	Recessed:	Reconv	ened:	Adjourned:	1/28/2008 3:45 PM
Present:	Representatives Gaskill, MCH, Kressig-VC, Kaufmann-RM, Arnold, Bukta, Clute, Cohoon, Deyoe, Hoffman, Huser, Kelley, Lykam, Olson, D., Schueller, Taylor, D., Thomas, Tjepkes, Van Engelenhoven, Van Fossen, Whitead					
Absent:	None					
Excused:	Representative Rasmussen					
The meeting was called to order by Chair, Representative Gaskill. Roll was called by the clerk, with a quorum being present.						
Representative Whitead moved approval of the minutes of January 23, 2008, as received. Motion approved.						
There were no bills for assignment.						
Bill Peterson, Executive Director and Linda Hinton, Government Relations Manager from the Iowa State Association of Counties gave a presentation. The top legislative priorities for 2008 are: Property Tax Reform Adequate Funding for Mental Health Services Sex Offender Residency Law State Funding of All-Paper Voting Systems Funding of TIME 21 Real Internet Access for Rural Iowa Urban Renewal (Tax Increment Financing) Other members in attendance from the Association were: Nathan Bonnett, Public Policy Specialist, Hanna DeGroot, Public Policy Specialist, Jay Syverson, Fiscal Analyst and Mike Wentzein, lobbyist for the Iowa Association of County Supervisors. Many questions and comments were directed to the group. There being no other business, Representative Lykam moved adjournment. The meeting adjourned.						
	ve Mary Gaskil		_			
Carole Martin, Committee Secretary						