COMMITTEE MINUTES for PUBLIC SAFETY

Date:	January 24, 20	008	Place:	Room 19		
Convened:	1/24/2008 1:00 PM	Recessed:	Reconve	ened:	Adjourned:	1/24/2008 2:00 PM
Present:	Representatives Lykam-CH, Berry-VC, Baudler-RM, Alons, Bell, Gayman, Heddens, Hunter, Kressig, Kuhn, Lukan, Olson, R., Olson, S., Rayhons, Sands, Swaim, Tjepkes, Tomenga, Whitaker, Worthan, Zirkelbach					
Absent:	None					
Excused:	None					
Meeting was called to order at 1:05 p.m. by Chair Lykam.						
Roll was taken. All were present.						
Minutes of the January 22, 2008 meeting were approved.						
Assignment of bills:						
HSB 523 Swaim, chair; Hunter, Lukan HSB 525 Zirkelbach, chair; Kressig, Tjepkes						
Eugene Meyer, Commissioner of Public Safety, addressed the Committee and introduced the individual Division Directors from the Department of Public Safety. Chair Lykam opened the floor to questions or comments for the Commissioner and Division Directors. Guests answered questions from Representatives Baudler, Berry, Kuhn, Tjepkes, S. Olson, Alons, Sands, Swaim Zirkelbach, and Kressig.						
Ross Loder, Department of Public Safety, also spoke to the Representatives' concerns.						
Chair Lykam thanked Commissioner Meyer and other guests.						
There being no further business, Representative Heddens $$\operatorname{\textsc{moved}}$$ to arise at 2:00 p.m.						
			_			
Representati	ve Jim Lykam					

Kathy Ellett, Committee Secretary